Hide
Раскрыть
 
INTERNATIONAL
ORGANISATIONS
RESEARCH
JOURNAL



ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081


Contacts:

Postal address:  20, Myasnitskaya str., Moscow, Russia 101000
National Research University Higher School of Economics
International Organisations Research Journal (IORJ) editors office

Actual address: office 417, bld. 17, Malaya Ordynka,  Moscow
Tel.+7 495 772-95-90 ext. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru

Indexed in 

    


   

 
 

Evgeny Grachikov1, Haiyan Xu 2
  • 1 Peoples' Friendship University of Russia, Miklouho-Maclay St., 10/2, Moscow, Russian Federation, 117198,
  • 2 Institute of Political Science, Beijing, Shuguang xili, 28, PRC, 100028

China and the International System: The Formation of a Chinese Model of World Order

2022. Vol. 17. No. 1. P. 7–24 [issue contents]

During its 72-year history, PRC has gone through a difficult path of changing the diplomatic strategies of relations with the outside world. The first period, thirty years from 1949 to 1978, was ideological, directed by Mao Zedong and completely ignored international organizations (IOs). The second, the next 30 years (1978–2008) – economic, which was determined by Deng Xiaopingʼs policy of reforms and opening up, and the gradual embedding of the PRC in the IOs. Now China is implementing the third, political stage under the leadership of Xi Jinping, who set the country with the tasks of great power diplomacy and the formation of new / alternative international structures in which it plays a leading role and has a real impact on the future model of the system of international relations.The formation of the PRC in 1949 and the Korean War (1950–1953) that followed soon after, where Chinese “volunteer” soldiers fought with the united UN forces, blocked the possibility of contacts between the PRC and this universal international organization for two decades. The countryʼs internal problems in the form of a “cultural revolution” also did not contribute to the solution of this problem. Even the restoration of the PRCʼs rights in the UN in 1971, the establishment of diplomatic relations with the United States in 1979, and Deng Xiaopingʼs reforms could not significantly accelerate the PRCʼs accession to other international organizations. This process took about twenty more years and, on the whole, ended only in 2001 with the entry into the WTO. In the 21st century, especially after the 2008 global financial crisis, China began to actively use existing and create new international organizations with partner countries.The purpose of the article is to analyze the Chinese academic discourse on the problem of relations between the PRC and international organizations and international system, where Western countries, headed by the United States, dominate to this day, and China does not see a prospect for itself to take a place worthy of its complex power. The article examines the history of the formation of relations between the PRC and international system, identifies the reasons for the dissatisfaction of the PRC with its status in its structures and traces the process of creating international organizations in which China occupies a dominant position and in global competition with the United States can influence the future model of the world.The peculiarity of the article is that it mainly uses the works of Chinese authors who study the position of their country in relation to international system. It is concluded that China is actively formatting its geo-economic space, offering the countries of the Global South, which are part of it, not only material dividends, but also their values, development model and their view future model of the world.

This article was prepared as part of research project #20-514-93003 “Russia and China in the Global Political Space: Harmonization of National Interests in Global Governance” supported by the Russian Foundation for Basic Research and the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences.

Citation: Grachikov E., Xu H. (2022). China and the International System: The Formation of a Chinese Model of World Order. International Organisations Research Journal, vol. 17, no 1, pp. 7–24 (in English).
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss

Скрыть
Раскрыть
 
журнал
ВЕСТНИК
МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫХ
ОРГАНИЗАЦИЙ
Образование, наука, новая экономика

SCImago Journal & Country Rank

ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081


Контакты:

Почтовый адрес: 101000, Москва, ул. Мясницкая, д. 20
Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики»
Редакция журнала "Вестник международных организаций"

Фактический адрес: Малая Ордынка, 17, каб. 417.

Тел.: +7 495 772-95-90 добав. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru

Индексирование журнала


      

     
 

Грачиков Е. Н.1, Сюй Х.2
  • 1 Российский университет дружбы народов (РУДН) , 117198, Москва, ул. Миклухо-Маклая, 10/2
  • 2 Китайская академия общественных наук. PRC, 100028, Beijing, Shuguang xili, 28

КНР и международная система: формирование собственной модели мироустройства

2022. Т. 17. № 1. С. 7–24 [содержание номера]

Китайская Народная Республика (КНР) за время своей 72-летней истории прошла сложный путь смены дипломатических стратегий взаимоотношений с внешним миром. Первый период – 30 лет с 1949 по 1978 г. – идеологический, направлялся Мао Цзэдуном и полностью игнорировал международные организации. Второй – следующие 30 лет (1978–2008 гг.) – экономический. Его определила политика реформ и открытости Дэн Сяопина и постепенное встраивание КНР в международную систему. Сейчас Китай реализует третий – политический – этап под руководством Си Цзиньпина, который поставил перед страной амбициозные задачи дипломатии великой державы и формирования новых международных структур, в которых Китай играет ведущую роль и оказывает реальное влияние на будущую модель системы международных отношений.Образование КНР в 1949 г. и последовавшая вскоре за этим корейская война (1950–1953 гг.), в которой китайские солдаты-«добровольцы» воевали с объединенными силами ООН, на два десятилетия заблокировала возможность контактов КНР с этой универсальной международной организацией. Внутренние события, в частности «культурная революция», также не способствовали решению этой проблемы. Даже восстановление в 1971 г. прав КНР в ООН, установление дипломатических отношений с США в 1979 г. и реформы Дэн Сяопина не смогли существенно ускорить присоединение КНР к другим международным организациям. Этот процесс занял еще около 20 лет и в целом завершился лишь в 2001 г. вступлением в ВТО. В XXI в., особенно после мирового финансового кризиса 2008 г., Китай стал активно создавать со странами-партнерами международные организации, которые иногда воспринимаются как параллельные или альтернативные.Цель статьи – анализ китайского академического дискурса по проблеме взаимоотношений КНР с международными организациями и системой в целом, где до сегодняшнего дня доминируют западные страны во главе с США, и Китай не видит для себя перспективы занять там достойное и подобающее своей комплексной мощи место. В статье исследуется история становления взаимоотношений КНР с международной системой, выявляются причины недовольства КНР своим статусом в ее структурах и прослеживается процесс создания международных организаций, в которых Китай занимает доминирующее положение и в глобальной конкуренции с США может влиять на будущую модель устройства мира.Особенность статьи заключается в том, что в основном анализируются работы китайских авторов, которые исследуют позицию своей страны в отношении международных организаций. Делается вывод о том, что Китай активно форматирует свое геоэкономическое пространство, предлагая странам Глобального Юга, входящим в него, не только материальные дивиденды, но и свои ценности, модель развитияи свой взгляд на будущую модель мироустройства.

Cтатья подготовлена в рамках гранта РФФИ 20-514-93003 – совместного проектас Китайской академией общественных наук «Россия и Китай в мировом политическом пространстве:согласование национальных интересов в глобальном управлении».


Библиографическое описание: Грачиков Е.Н., Сюй Х. КНР и международная система: формирование собственноймодели мироустройства // Вестник международных организаций. 2022. Т. 17. № 1. С. 7–24 (на русскоми английском языках).
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss