Hide
Раскрыть
 
INTERNATIONAL
ORGANISATIONS
RESEARCH
JOURNAL



ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081


Contacts:

Postal address:  20, Myasnitskaya str., Moscow, Russia 101000
National Research University Higher School of Economics
International Organisations Research Journal (IORJ) editors office

Actual address: office 417, bld. 17, Malaya Ordynka,  Moscow
Tel.+7 495 772-95-90 ext. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru

Indexed in 

    


   

 
 

Evgeniya Makhmutova

Sanctions Against Russia and Their Impact on the Eurasian Economic Union

2019. Vol. 14. No. 3. P. 99–116 [issue contents]

This article deals with the political and economic implications of sanctions against Russia for the functioning of the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU), which became operational in 2015.

Assuming that the political conduct of EAEU states is based on political pragmatism, the author concludes that in spite of the fact that they provide official support to Eurasian integration, they also have an interest in acceding to alternative projects that strengthen their sovereignty. Therefore, the major challenge to the Union derives primarily from the political sphere since the number of alternatives to Eurasian integration is gradually increasing, disrupting relations between members and Russia.

In this respect, the correlation between western sanctions and the EAEU’s economic growth rate is of great importance. The principal purpose of sanctions is to limit a country’s ability to pursue its independent and active policy, including the development of foreign economic projects. Consequently, anti-Russian sanctions must have influenced the EAEU and its key members. In 2016, Russia demonstrated a decrease in gross domestic product (GDP) which had an even greater negative impact on Belarus and Kazakhstan. Nevertheless, they have not only managed to regain lost ground on economic performance, but also to achieve some growth in GDP. Such dynamics confirm the author’s hypothesis that the members of the EAEU have room for manoeuvre if some external player influences their political and economic development.

However, the EAEU’s internal capacities for dynamic development should not be overestimated. The Union faces problems such as weak aggregate GDP in comparison with the leading world economies, low GDP growth rates in the member states and a relatively low rate of EAEU population growth. In this context, the Union definitely needs to expand its economic influence in the global arena.

Although EAEU states might have divergent interests, the author concludes that a pragmatic assessment of the benefits from participation in the Eurasian integration project, including the preservation of their identity and greater room for manoeuvre in their foreign trade and economic activities, remains the principal factor maintaining the integrity of the Union
Citation: Makhmutova E. (2019) Sanctions Against Russia and Their Impact on the Eurasian Economic Union. International Organisations Research Journal, vol. 14, no 3, pp. 99–116 (in English). DOI: 10.17323/1996-7845-2019-03-05.
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss

Скрыть
Раскрыть
 
журнал
ВЕСТНИК
МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫХ
ОРГАНИЗАЦИЙ
Образование, наука, новая экономика

ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081



Контакты:

Почтовый адрес: 101000, Москва, ул. Мясницкая, д. 20
Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики»
Редакция журнала "Вестник международных организаций"

Фактический адрес: Малая Ордынка, 17, каб. 417.

Тел.: +7 495 772-95-90 добав. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru


 

Индексирование

Махмутова Е. В.

Влияние антироссийских санкций на Евразийский экономический союз

2019. Т. 14. № 3. С. 99–116 [содержание номера]

В статье оценивается политико-экономический эффект антироссийских санкций на функционирование Евразийского экономического союза (ЕАЭС), учрежденного в 2015 году.

Опираясь в своем анализе на интерпретацию поведения государств-членов ЕАЭС с позиции политического прагматизма, автор приходит к выводу, что наряду с официальной поддержкой евразийской интеграции страны-члены заинтересованы в развитии альтернативных проектов, укрепляющих их национальный суверенитет. Таким образом, основные угрозы Союзу следует ожидать преимущественно из политической сферы в связи с распространением альтернатив, направленных на подрыв отношений государств-членов с Россией.

Немаловажную взаимосвязь здесь демонстрируют принятие странами Запада антироссийских санкций и темпы экономического развития ЕАЭС. Поскольку основная задача санкций – ограничение возможностей страны проводить активную самостоятельную политику, включая развитие внешнеэкономических связей, то антироссийские санкции неизбежно должны были повлиять на ЕАЭС и ее ключевых участников. В 2016 году вслед за снижением ВВП России еще большее снижение продемонстрировали Белоруссия и Казахстан. Однако впоследствии страны не только вернулись на исходный уровень, но и смогли добиться роста ВВП. Такая динамика говорит в пользу выдвинутого автором предположения, что участники евразийского объединения имеют поле для маневра в случае внешнего негативного влияния на их политико-экономическое развитие.

При этом не следует переоценивать внутренние ресурсы ЕАЭС для его динамичного развития. Среди проблем, стоящих перед Союзом, небольшой совокупный ВВП в сравнении с ведущими экономиками мира, низкие темпы роста ВВП стран-членов, сравнительно низкая динамика роста численности населения Союза. В таком контексте для ЕЭАС крайне важно расширение своего международного экономического влияния.

Учитывая наличие различных интересов в рамках ЕАЭС, автор приходит к выводу о том, что для Союза по-прежнему ключевым фактором, поддерживающим его целостность, будет оставаться прагматичная оценка его членами возможностей, которые они получают от участия в ЕАЭС, включая сохранения ими своей государственной идентичности и большая торгово-экономическая маневренность.

Библиографическое описание:

Махмутова Е.В. (2019) Влияние антироссийских санкций на Евразийский экономический союз // Вестник международных организаций. Т. 14 . № 3. С. 99–116 (на русском и английском языках). DOI: 10.17323/1996-7845-2019-03-05.

BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss