Hide
Раскрыть
 
INTERNATIONAL
ORGANISATIONS
RESEARCH
JOURNAL

ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081



Contacts:

Postal address:  20, Myasnitskaya str., Moscow, Russia 101000
National Research University Higher School of Economics
International Organisations Research Journal (IORJ) editors office


Actual address: office 417, bld. 17, Malaya Ordynka,  Moscow

Tel.+7 495 772-95-90 ext. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru   

 
Journal's Indexing


Konstantin Kurilev  , Denis Degtyarev, Daria Stanis  , Nadezda Smolik  

A Quantitative Analysis of Geopolitical Pluralism in the Post-Soviet Space

2018. Vol. 13. No. 1. P. 134–156 [issue contents]

Twenty-five years have passed since the collapse of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR), which led to the disruption of the regional check-and-balance system aimed at resolving national issues and political and socioeconomic contradictions.  It also resulted in a number of armed conflicts, including those in the Chechen Republic, Nagorno-Karabakh, Transnistria, Tajikistan, Abkhazia, South Ossetia and later in the South-East of Ukraine.

Immediately following the collapse of the USSR, key international actors paid special attention to the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) region while trying to secure own interests. This led to the further stratification of the CIS region. A “geopolitical pluralism” started to form there, marked by the fragmentation of nation-state sovereignty over the territory.

The concept and policy of “geopolitical pluralism” as developed by Zbigniew Brzezinski meets the interests of the United States by making the CIS region more manageable, while at the same time making it more difficult for Russia to implement its own strategic tasks there. The key goal of Russia is the creation of an integrated economic and political union able to take a rightful place in the world. Only the development of deep and comprehensive integration with the CIS states can ensure the competitiveness of Russia’s position in the world as well as the positions of its partners in the former Soviet space.

The purpose of this article is to assess the level of geopolitical pluralism in the CIS space taking account of the membership of the CIS countries in international organizations and their voting on UN General Assembly resolutions. The study is based on the interconnection of quantitative and qualitative methods of analysis of international relations and world politics.

During the past quarter century following the collapse of the Soviet Union, a regional system of international relations has formed in its place. Despite the fact that the CIS is a kind of linking element which unites most of the former Soviet republics, a certain competition between the new states has become the characteristic feature of the political relations in the region.

The policy of the west (primarily the United States) became a kind of a branched, diversified strategy aimed at the phased development, transformation and fragmentation of the region. The diversity of foreign policy priorities among the CIS states and the presence of many actors in the region makes mutual understanding and good-neighbourliness between these countries difficult to achieve. To the contrary, this diversity seriously complicates and slows down the development of deep and comprehensive integration, making it more unstable and ineffective.

The research was carried out with the financial support of the Russian Foundation for Basic Research in the framework of the scientific project RFBR-CASS No. 17-27-21002.



Citation:

Kurylev K., Degterev D., Smolik N., Stanis D. (2018) A Quantitative Analysis of Geopolitical Pluralism in the Post-Soviet Space. International Organisations Research Journal, vol. 13, no 1 (in Russian and English). DOI: 10.17323/1996-7845-2018-01-08. 

doi
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss

Скрыть
Раскрыть
 
журнал
ВЕСТНИК
МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫХ
ОРГАНИЗАЦИЙ
Образование, наука, новая экономика

ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081



Контакты:

Почтовый адрес: 101000, Москва, ул. Мясницкая, д. 20
Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики»
Редакция журнала "Вестник международных организаций"

Фактический адрес: Малая Ордынка, 17, каб. 417.

Тел.: +7 495 772-95-90 добав. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru


 

Индексирование

Курылев К. П. , Дегтерев Д. А., Станис Д. В. , Смолик Н. Г. 

Количественный анализ феномена геополитического плюрализма постсоветского пространства

2018. Т. 13. № 1. С. [содержание номера]

Прошло 25 лет с момента распада СССР, что привело к разрушению существовавшей в регионе системы сдержек и противовесов в разрешении национальных вопросов, политических и социально-экономических противоречий, и вылилось в ряд вооруженных конфликтов, в том числе на территории Нагорного Карабаха, Приднестровья, Таджикистана, Абхазии и Южной Осетии, Украины.

Практически сразу после распада СССР на регион СНГ началось проецирование внимания со стороны ключевых международных акторов, каждый из которых стремился обеспечить здесь собственные интересы, что обусловило начало процесса расслоения региона СНГ. Формируется «геополитический плюрализм» в СНГ, то есть дробление национально-государственных суверенитетов над территорией.

Основоположником концепции «геополитического плюрализма» считается Зб. Бжезинский. Подобная политика, отвечающая интересам США, делает регион СНГ более управляемым, затрудняя России реализацию собственных стратегических задач в нем. Ключевая из которых видится нам в создании интегрированного экономического и политического объединения, способного претендовать на достойное место в мировом сообществе. Только через развитие глубокой и всесторонней интеграции со странами СНГ может быть обеспечена конкурентоспособность как самой России в мире, так и наших партнеров из числа бывших советских республик.

Целью данной статьи является оценка параметров глубины геополитического плюрализма, оформившегося к настоящему времени на пространстве СНГ. Изучаемое явление это многослойный и сложный процесс. Руководствуясь профилем и направленностью журнала, мы ограничимся анализом членства стран СНГ в международных организациях и голосования по резолюциям Генассамблеи ООН.

Исследование основывается на взаимосвязи количественных и качественных методов анализа международных отношений и мировой политики.

За прошедшие четверть века с распада СССР на его пространстве сформировалась региональная система международных отношений. Несмотря на наличие такого связующего элемента как СНГ, объединившего большинство бывших советских республик, характерной чертой отношений в регионе между новыми государственными объединениями стало проявление определенной конкуренции.

Действия Запада (в первую очередь это касается США) обрели контуры разветвленной многопрофильной стратегии, рассчитанной на поэтапное освоение региона, его трансформацию и фрагментацию. Оформившееся внешнеполитическое многообразие приоритетов стран СНГ и присутствие в регионе интересов множества акторов не способствует взаимопониманию и добрососедству между ними. Оно серьезно осложняет и замедляет процесс развития глубокой и всесторонней интеграции, делает его более неустойчивым и недостаточно эффективным.

Исследование выполнено при финансовой поддержке РФФИ в рамках научного проекта РФФИ-КАОН № 17-27-21002.



Библиографическое описание:

К.П. Курылев, Д.А. Дегтерев, Н.Г. Смолик, Д.В. Станис Количественный анализ феномена геополитического плюрализма постсоветского пространства//Вестник международных организаций. 2018. Т. 13. № 1. DOI: 10.17323/1996-7845-2018-01-08. 

doi
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss