Hide
Раскрыть
 
INTERNATIONAL
ORGANISATIONS
RESEARCH
JOURNAL

ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081



Contacts:

Postal address:  20, Myasnitskaya str., Moscow, Russia 10100
National Research University Higher School of Economics
International Organisations Research Journal (IORJ) editors office

Tel.: +7 495 772-95-90 ext. 23147 
E-mail: iorj@hse.ru   

 
Journal's Indexing






Elena Medyanik  

Joint Universities as a Tool for Promoting the National Interests of Russia and China

2017. Vol. 12. No. 1. P. 7–23 [issue contents]

At present, the opening of joint educational institutions is one of the leading educational trends. It allows states to improve the quality of national human resources and the national education system. Thus, it is particularly important for transition economies in the context of an innovative model of development.

Russia and China turned to this practice in 2010 after the launch of the SCO University, established by the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation. Today joint educational institutions function not only multilaterally but also bilaterally. This article examines the Shenzhen MSU-BIT University, a joint Russian-Chinese university, as a tool to promote the national interests of the two countries.

The author presents the basic history of Russian-Chinese cooperation in education in the second half of the 20th century. She argues that the Cultural Revolution and period the subsequent of difficult relations between the two countries had a negative impact on educational ties. Russia lost 17 years in China’s educational market, which was filled by other countries, primarily the United States.

At the beginning of the 20th century, Russian-Chinese humanitarian cooperation was positive. The author relates the increase in the volume of Russian-Chinese educational exchange to the success of several events, including the large-scale projects of the Year of Russia in China and the Year of China in Russia, the Year of Chinese Language in Russia and Russian Language in China, the opening of the Russian Cultural Centre and the Chinese Cultural Centre, Russian centres and cabinets of the “Russian World” in China, and Confucius Institutes and classes in Russia.

After analyzing the current situation, the author describes the new forms of cooperation, which include the opening of joint institutions. She assesses the interests and prospects of Russian and Chinese participation in the creation of the Shenzhen MSU-BIT University through the prism of national interests. Her methodology is based on the principles of integrated research and relies on sources, using problem-chronological and comparative methods, content analysis and event analysis.

The author also refers to similar projects between China and the United States, Australia and several European countries. She stresses that joint institutions contribute to the competitiveness of educational services of the participating countries, and also serve as an effective tool for promoting national culture, language, values and lifestyles. The author demonstrates the advantages of this form of cooperation for Russia and China as a new mechanism of collective cooperation.

The author concludes that Russia is interested in establishing joint educational institutions with China primarily as an instrument of soft power that can increase the competitiveness of Russian education, not only in China but throughout Asia, and can promote the Russian language. For China, it is important to get access to Russian intellectual resources for its further socioeconomic development. She ends with a proposal for the creation of a Russian-Chinese university that could contribute to the successful implementation of this project. 

Citation:
Medianik E. (2017) Joint Universities as a Tool for Promoting the National Interests of Russia and China. International Organisations Research Journal, vol. 12, no 1, pp. 7–23 (in Russian and English). DOI: 10.17323/1996-7845-2017-01-7.
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss

Скрыть
Раскрыть
 
журнал
ВЕСТНИК
МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫХ
ОРГАНИЗАЦИЙ
Образование, наука, новая экономика

ISSN 1996-7845

Контакты:

Почтовый адрес: 101000, Москва, ул. Мясницкая, д. 20
Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики»
Редакция журнала "Вестник международных организаций"
Тел.: +7 495 772-95-90 добав. 23147 
E-mail: iorj@hse.ru


 
Индексирование журнала









Медяник Е. И. 

Совместный университет как инструмент реализации национальных интересов России и Китая

2017. Т. 12. № 1. С. [содержание номера]

В настоящее время открытие совместных учебных заведений является одним из ведущих мировых образовательных трендов. Это позволяет государствам повышать качество национальных человеческих ресурсов и совершенствовать национальную систему образования. Таким образом, это имеет особое значение в контексте перехода экономик стран мира на инновационную модель развития.

Россия и Китай обратились к данной практике в 2010 г. после пилотного запуска Университета ШОС, и на сегодняшний день совместные образовательные структуры функционируют не только на многосторонней, но и на двусторонней основе. Предметом исследования является совместный российско-китайский университет (Университет МГУ-ППИ в г. Шэньчжэне) как инструмент продвижения национальных интересов Российской Федерации и Китайской Народной Республики.

Вначале приводятся основные факты истории развития российско-китайского сотрудничества в области образования во второй половине XX века. По мнению автора, культурная революция и достаточно сложный период в отношениях двух государств после ее окончания оказали негативное воздействие и на образовательные связи. При этом констатируется, что Россия потеряла 17 лет на образовательном рынке КНР, и освободившуюся нишу заняли другие государства, прежде всего, США.

В начале XXI века в российско-китайском гуманитарном сотрудничестве наметились положительные тенденции. Автор связывает увеличение объемов российско-китайского образовательного обмена с успешным проведением целого ряда мероприятий, среди которых крупномасштабные проекты Национальных Годов, Годов национальных языков, открытие Российского культурного центра и Китайского культурного центра, Русских центров и Кабинетов фонда «Русский мир» в Китае и Институтов и Классов Конфуция в России и др.

Рассмотрев современное положение дел, автор обращается к изучению новых форм взаимодействия в области образования, к которым в том числе относится открытие совместных учебных заведений. Анализируются интересы и перспективы участия России и Китая в проекте создания совместного Университета МГУ-ППИ в г. Шэньчжэнь. Методологическую основу составляют принципы комплексности исследования и опоры на источники. В ходе анализа были использованы проблемно-хронологический и компаративистский методы, а также методы контент-анализа и ивент-анализа.

Автор приходит к выводу о том, что для российской стороны данный проект интересен прежде всего как инструмент «мягкой силы», способный повысить конкурентоспособность российского образования не только в Китае, но и во всем азиатском регионе, а также способствовать продвижению русского языка. Для китайской стороны важен доступ к российским интеллектуальным ресурсам для дальнейшего социально-экономического развития.

Автор в том числе обращается к опыту ведения подобных проектов между Китаем и США, Австралией и рядом европейских стран. В статье подчеркивается, что совместные учебные заведения не только способствуют повышению конкурентоспособности образовательных услуг стран-участниц проектов, но и служат эффективным инструментом по продвижению национальной культуры, языка, ценностей и образа жизни. Автор показывает преимущества данной формы взаимодействия для России и Китая, как нового механизма коллективного сотрудничества.

В конце статьи автор высказывает ряд предложений по созданию совместного российско-китайского университета, которые могли бы, по его мнению, способствовать успешной реализации данного проекта.

BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss