Hide
Раскрыть
 
INTERNATIONAL
ORGANISATIONS
RESEARCH
JOURNAL

Contacts



ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081


Contacts:

Postal address:  11 Pokrovsky Boulevard, Moscow, Russia, 109028
National Research University Higher School of Economics
International Organisations Research Journal (IORJ) editors office

Actual addressOffice 308, 33, Profsoyuznaya street, bld. 4, Moscow, 117418


Tel.+7 495 772-95-90 ext. 23150 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru

Indexed in 

    


   

 
 

Elena Kharitonova1
  • 1 Primakov National Research Institute of World Economy and International Relations of the Russian Academy of Sciences (IMEMO RAN), 23, Profsoyuznaya Str., Moscow, 117997, Russian Federation

Indicators and ratings in global governance: new trends

2023. Vol. 18. No. 3. P. 205–219 [issue contents]

Numerous indicators and ratings aimed at assessing and comparing states based on different criteria, such as volume of gross domestic product (GDP), freedom of speech, gender equality, or attractiveness of local cuisine, have become an integral part of contemporary communications and international relations. Country rankings can be used as a basis for agenda setting, political influence, or developing approaches to global governance. National governments sometimes use rankings developed by international intergovernmental and non-governmental organizations, or in some cases by business entities, as benchmarks for their countries’ development and national scorecards and indexes. Or, if the ratings are considered unsatisfactory, governments can distance themselves from such reports, accusing their authors of political bias.

Lately, the phenomena of international indicators and ratings, the principles behind their development, and their influence and usage in the context of global governance have attracted attention of researchers specializing in international relations and other social science disciplines.

This article examines different theoretical approaches to analyzing the phenomena of indexes and ratings and provides evaluation of the phenomena. The author focuses on the premises for the increasing interest in comparative approaches and emergence of newly developed ratings and indexes, highlights limitations and weaknesses of such approaches, and examines new trends in the field and possible scenarios of its future development in the context of current global transformations.

The article was prepared within the project "Post-crisis world order: challenges and technologies, competition and cooperation" supported by the grant from Ministry of Science and Higher Education of the Russian Federation program for research projects in priority areas of scientific and technological development (Agreement № 075-15-2020-783)

This article was submitted 02.07.2023
Citation: Kharitonova Elena (2023) Indicators and ratings in global governance: new trends. International Organisations Research Journal, vol. 18, no 3, pp. (in English). doi: 10.17323/1996-7845-2023-03-11
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss

Скрыть
Раскрыть
 
журнал
ВЕСТНИК
МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫХ
ОРГАНИЗАЦИЙ
Образование, наука, новая экономика

Контакты редакции

SCImago Journal & Country Rank

ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081


Контакты:

Почтовый адрес: Покровский бульвар, д.11, Москва, Россия, 109028
Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики»
Редакция журнала "Вестник международных организаций"

Фактический адрес: 117418, Москва, ул. Профсоюзная, д. 33, корп. 4, ком. 308

Тел.: +7 495 772-95-90 добав. 23150 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru

Индексирование журнала


      

     
 

Харитонова Е. М.1
  • 1 Национальный исследовательский институт мировой экономики и международных отношений им. Е.М. Примакова (ИМЭМО) РАН, 117997, Россия, г. Москва, ул. Профсоюзная, д. 23

Показатели и рейтинги в глобальном управлении: новые тенденции

2023. Т. 18. № 3. С. 205–219 [содержание номера]

Разнообразные показатели и рейтинги, призванные оценить и сопоставить государства по множеству критериев, от размера ВВП до уровня свободы слова, гендерного равенства или привлекательности национальной кухни, стали неотъемлемой частью информационного пространства и международной жизни. Ранжирование стран зачастую становится основной для формулирования повестки дня, политического влияния или формирования подходов к глобальному управлению. Правительства могут использовать рейтинги, разработанные международными межправительственными и неправительственными организациями, а иногда и коммерческими структурами в качестве ориентира для развития и разработки собственных систем оценки тех или иных показателей, а могут, напротив, дистанцироваться от некоторых из таких рейтингов, обвиняя их создателей в политической ангажированности.
В последнее время внимание исследователей все чаще привлекает само явление рейтингов и индексов, принципы их создания и использования в контексте глобального управления, механизмы их разработки и влияния.
В статье рассматриваются существующие теоретические подходы к исследованию самого явления показателей и рейтингов, предлагаются оценки этого явления. Автор анализирует предпосылки роста интереса к разнообразным сопоставительным исследованиям и появления все новых и новых рейтингов, отмечает ограничения и слабые стороны таких исследований, изучает новые тенденции в данной сфере и возможные сценарии ее дальнейшего развития в условиях трансформации современного миропорядка

Статья опубликована в рамках проекта “Посткризисное мироустройство: вызовы и технологии, конкуренция и сотрудничество” по гранту Министерства науки и высшего образования Российской Федерации на проведение крупных научных проектов по приоритетным направлениям научно-технологического развития (соглашение № 075-15-2020-783).

Материал поступил в редакцию 02.07.2023

Библиографическое описание: Харитонова Е.М.,Показатели и рейтинги в глобальном управлении: новые тенденции // Вестник международных организаций. Т. 18. №3. С. (на русском и английском языках).
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss