Hide
Раскрыть
 
INTERNATIONAL
ORGANISATIONS
RESEARCH
JOURNAL



ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081


Contacts:

Postal address:  20, Myasnitskaya str., Moscow, Russia 101000
National Research University Higher School of Economics
International Organisations Research Journal (IORJ) editors office

Actual address: office 417, bld. 17, Malaya Ordynka,  Moscow
Tel.+7 495 772-95-90 ext. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru

Indexed in 

    


   

 
 

Xuesong Fan

Existing Mechanisms of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization and Their Problems Dealing With Non-traditional Security Challenges

2021. Vol. 16. No. 1. P. [issue contents]

Central Asia is extremely important for the security of Russia, China and the Eurasian region, both historically and at present. Unconventional security challenges, led by terrorism, extremism and separatism, which in the official Chinese rhetoric and official documents of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) are designated as the ‘three forces of evil,’ pose a serious challenge to the security of China, Russia, the countries of Central Asia and Eurasia in general.

Over the 20 years of the SCO’s history, proceeding from their ‘Shanghai spirit,’ the participating countries have created unique legislative and organizational mechanisms for a joint strike against the ‘three forces of evil,’ as well as mechanisms for bilateral and multilateral antiterrorist exercises. The most important of these is the Peace Mission joint exercise, which has been regularly held since 2005.

These mechanisms of cooperation within the SCO embody the spirit of solidarity, mutual trust and cooperation, reflect the ability of the members of the organization to jointly counter the ‘three forces of evil’ and respond to related problems, and also symbolize the SCO’s determination to protect stability in the region and peace in the world. The organization has made a significant contribution to ensuring security in the region. Nevertheless, in the face of existing problems and new challenges such as potential competition and disagreements within the organization, problems with new members after the expansion of the membership, and also the ineffective functioning of some of the SCO’s security instruments, all SCO members need to strengthen their cooperation and open new ways for organizing the SCO to fulfil well its unique role to ensure security in the territory of SCO states and in Eurasia as a whole. The new model of relations—‘Russian-Chinese relations of comprehensive partnership and strategic interaction entering a new era’—that underlies the SCO gives the organization greater stability. The SCO is a unique organization on the territory of Eurasia and has both implemented an important innovation in the theory and practice of international relations and opened a new model of regional cooperation. Therefore, it can be stated with a high degree of confidence that multilateral cooperation in the field of security will gradually deepen.

 

Citation: Fan X. (2021) Existing Mechanisms of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization and Their Problems Dealing With Non-traditional Security Challenges. International Organisations Research Journal, vol. 16, no 1, pp. 107-126 (in English).
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss

Скрыть
Раскрыть
 
журнал
ВЕСТНИК
МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫХ
ОРГАНИЗАЦИЙ
Образование, наука, новая экономика

SCImago Journal & Country Rank

ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081


Контакты:

Почтовый адрес: 101000, Москва, ул. Мясницкая, д. 20
Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики»
Редакция журнала "Вестник международных организаций"

Фактический адрес: Малая Ордынка, 17, каб. 417.

Тел.: +7 495 772-95-90 добав. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru

Индексирование журнала


      

     
 

Сюэсун Ф. 

Существующие механизмы Шанхайской организации сотрудничества и их проблемы для борьбы с нетрадиционными вызовами безопасности

2021. Т. 16. № 1. С. [содержание номера]

Центральная Азия имеет чрезвычайно важное значение для безопасности России, Китая и региона Евразии как исторически, так и на современном этапе развития. Нетрадиционные вызовы безопасности, во главе с терроризмом, экстремизмом и сепаратизмом, которые в официальной китайской риторике и официальных документах ШОС обозначаются термином «три силы зла», представляют серьезный вызов для безопасности Китая, России, стран Центральной Азии и Евразии в целом.

За 20 лет истории ШОС, исходя из своего «шанхайского духа», страны-участницы создали уникальные законодательные и организационные механизмы для совместного удара по «трем силам зла», также механизмы двухсторонних и многосторонних антитеррористических учений. Самые главные из них – совместные учения «Мирная миссия», которые регулярно проводятся с 2005 г.

Эти механизмы сотрудничества внутри ШОС воплощает дух солидарности, взаимодоверия и сотрудничества, отражает способность членов организации к совместному противодействию «трем силам зла» и реагированию на связанные с этим проблемы, а также символизирует решительность ШОС для защиты стабильности в регионе и мира во всем мире. Организация внесла заметный вклад в обеспечение безопасности в регионе. Тем не менее, перед существующими проблемами и новыми вызовами, такие, как потенциальные конкуренции и разногласии внутри организации, проблемы с новыми государствами-членами после расширения состава, и также неэффективность функционирования некоторых инструментов безопасности ШОС, всем участникам ШОС требуется усилить свое сотрудничество и открыть новые пути для организации, чтобы ШОС хорошо исполнила свою уникальную роль для обеспечения безопасности на территории стран-участниц ШОС, также в Евразии в целом. Новая модель отношений «Российско-китайские отношения всеобъемлющего партнерства и стратегического взаимодействия, вступающего в новую эпоху», лежащая в основе ШОС, придает организации большую устойчивость. ШОС является уникальной организации на территории Евразии и реализовала важную инновацию теории и практики международных отношений, открыло новую модель регионального сотрудничества. Поэтому можно с высокой степенью уверенности утверждать, что многостороннее сотрудничество в сфере безопасности будет постепенно углубляться.

Сюэсун Фань – к.п.н., старший преподаватель Факультета мировой экономики и мировой политики НИУ ВШЭ; Российская Федерация, Москва, ул. Малая Ордынка, д. 17, стр. 2; E-mail: xfan@hse.ru

Библиографическое описание: Фань С. (2021) Существующие механизмы Шанхайской организации сотрудничества и их проблемы для борьбы с нетрадиционными вызовами безопасности // Вестник международных организаций. Т. 16. № 1. С. (на русском и английском языках).
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss