Hide
Раскрыть
 
INTERNATIONAL
ORGANISATIONS
RESEARCH
JOURNAL

ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081



Contacts:

Postal address:  20, Myasnitskaya str., Moscow, Russia 101000
National Research University Higher School of Economics
International Organisations Research Journal (IORJ) editors office


Actual address: office 417, bld. 17, Malaya Ordynka,  Moscow

Tel.+7 495 772-95-90 ext. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru   

 
Journal's Indexing


Irina Popova  

International Academic Community’s Perception of the BRICS Role in the System of Global Governance Institutions

2019. Vol. 14. No. 4. P. 72–88 [issue contents]

The interest of the international academic community in BRICS is constantly growing. International relations scholars are trying to explain the phenomenon of the transformation of the BRICS from an acronym into a functioning institution, to determine its potential to influence the decision-making process on key issues of global governance and to transform the current system, as well as to predict the future of the association. At various stages of BRICS development some scholars constantly predicted the inevitable collapse of the association, others questioned its ability to seriously influence the development of the international system and its institutions, while others confirmed that BRICS has a real opportunity to influence the transformation of the system, but believed that such an influence is extremely destructive. However, BRICS has also many supporters, not only among the academic community of member countries and other developing nations, but also among representatives of Western states.

In this regard, it is interesting to trace how BRICS is perceived by members of the academic community, what opinions prevailed at different stages of the institute's development, what factors could lead to a change in the nature of the assessments made, what methodological approaches are used, how serious is the influence of the general ideology that the author adheres to, and also highlight the main trends in ongoing research. Trying to answer these questions is the goal of this study.

This article considers two groups of studies on the role of BRICS in the modern system of international relations. The first includes representatives of Western countries and universities. The second analyzes the position of non-Western authors. At the same time, the aim of the study is to demonstrate the spectrum of attitudes towards BRICS by the international academic community, the methods used, the prevailing approaches, and not to express the point of view of the author of this article regarding the place, role and future of BRICS.

Citation: Popova I. (2019) International Academic Community’s Perception of the BRICS Role in the System of Global Governance Institutions. International Organisations Research Journal, vol. 14, no 4, pp. (in English). DOI: 10.17323/1996-7845-2019-04-04.
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss

Скрыть
Раскрыть
 
журнал
ВЕСТНИК
МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫХ
ОРГАНИЗАЦИЙ
Образование, наука, новая экономика

ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081



Контакты:

Почтовый адрес: 101000, Москва, ул. Мясницкая, д. 20
Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики»
Редакция журнала "Вестник международных организаций"

Фактический адрес: Малая Ордынка, 17, каб. 417.

Тел.: +7 495 772-95-90 добав. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru


 

Индексирование

Попова И. М. 

Восприятие международным академическим сообществом роли БРИКС в системе институтов глобального управления

2019. Т. 14. № 4. С. [содержание номера]

Интерес международного академического сообщества к БРИКС постоянно растет. Ученые-международники стараются объяснить феномен трансформации БРИКС из акронима в реальный действующий институт, определить его потенциал влиять на процесс принятия решений по ключевым вопросам глобального управления и трансформировать сложившуюся систему, а также предсказать будущее объединения. На разных этапах развития БРИКС некоторые ученые постоянно предрекали неминуемый распад объединения, другие ставили под сомнение его возможность в серьезной степени влиять на развитие международной системы и ее институтов, третьи подтверждали наличие у БРИКС реальной возможности влиять на трансформацию системы, но считали, что такое влияние является исключительно деструктивным. Однако у БРИКС довольно много сторонников, причем не только среди академического сообщества стран-членов и других развивающихся государств, но и среди представителей западных стран.

В связи с этим интересно проследить, как БРИКС воспринимается членами академического сообщества, какие мнения преобладали на разных этапах развития института, какие факторы могли привести к изменению характера даваемых оценок, какие методологические подходы используются, насколько серьезным является влияние общей идеологии, которой придерживается автор, а также выделить основные тренды в проводимых исследованиях. Попытка ответить на эти вопросы является целью данного исследования.

Данная статья рассматривает две группы исследований, посвященных месту БРИКС в современной системе международных отношений. В первую входят представители западных стран и университетов. Во второй анализируется позиция незападных авторов. При этом целью исследования является продемонстрировать спектр отношения к БРИКС со стороны международного академического сообщества, используемых методов, преобладающих подходов, а не высказать точку зрения автора данной статьи касательно места, роли и будущего БРИКС.

Библиографическое описание: Попова И.М. (2019) Восприятие международным академическим сообществом роли БРИКС в системе институтов глобального управления // Вестник международных организаций. Т. 14 . № 4 (на русском и английском языках). DOI: 10.17323/1996-7845-2019-04-04.
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss