Hide
Раскрыть
 
INTERNATIONAL
ORGANISATIONS
RESEARCH
JOURNAL



ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081


Contacts:

Postal address:  20, Myasnitskaya str., Moscow, Russia 101000
National Research University Higher School of Economics
International Organisations Research Journal (IORJ) editors office

Actual address: office 417, bld. 17, Malaya Ordynka,  Moscow
Tel.+7 495 772-95-90 ext. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru

Indexed in 

    


   

 
 

Eduard Dzhagityan

Shaping the EAEU’s Institutional Framework for Banking Regulation: Perspectives and Risks

2019. Vol. 14. No. 2. P. 245–274 [issue contents]

The institutional aspect of post-crisis banking regulation reform (Basel III) remains unsettled, and as such undermines regulators’ efforts to shape a seamless platform for international financial intermediation. The lack of global acceptance of the Basel III standards amid the internationalization of banking activities is one of the main reasons for regulatory asymmetries which are difficult to handle at the national level. In this context, the efforts of governments and financial regulators are a central core of their policy in protecting banking sectors from systemic risks. It becomes imperative to bring together national mechanisms of banking regulation and to develop a regional system of regulatory institutions, as is evidenced by the single supervisory mechanism in the eurozone countries.

Strengthening stress-resilience of the national banking sectors in the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) and the expansion of banking activities to the Eurasian economy will require a conceptual framework of the EAEU banking regulation system. However, different regulatory regimes in EAEU states along with the lack of supranational regulatory institutions may slow the progress of the Eurasian mechanism of banking regulation. This means that operationalization of the EAEU regulatory mechanism will depend on whether the mini-Basel III format as a methodological hub of regionalization and supranationalization will act as an enabler of a resolution to the regulatory trilemma of the feasibility, relevance and opportunities of supranationalization.

The institutional aspect of mini-Basel III is intrinsically linked to the integrity and consistency of the supranational authority for regulation of EAEU financial markets being an authority documented in the treaty on the EAEU; however, the costs of regulatory alignment may exceed the advantages of a single-institution regulatory architecture owing to the existent and tacit risks from the heterogeneity of the national regulatory models. Stemming from the complex financial sector environment that falls short of valid and reliable institutional fundamentals, this article proposes alternative scenarios for the EAEU regulatory mechanism that could be sought for optimization of regulatory logistics and algorithms of regulatory alignment. Based on systematization of the benefits and weaknesses of each of the scenarios as well as on a comparative analysis as to whether the proposed scenarios would ensure a continuum of financial intermediation and financial stability, this article concludes that currently there are no priority approaches to the design of a supranational institutional system in the EAEU. At the same time, the identical structure of national banking sectors together with the least expensive scenario approach could underpin the process of regulatory supranationalization; however, to secure the integrity of the EAEU supranational authority, it should be complemented with an authority that would be responsible for the coordination of EAEU-wide regulatory alignment.

Citation: Dzhagityan E. (2019) Shaping the EAEU’s Institutional Framework for Banking Regulation: Perspectives and Risks. International Organisations Research Journal, vol. 14, no 2, pp. 245-274 (in English). DOI: 10.17323/1996-7845-2019-02-10.
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss

Скрыть
Раскрыть
 
журнал
ВЕСТНИК
МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫХ
ОРГАНИЗАЦИЙ
Образование, наука, новая экономика

ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081



Контакты:

Почтовый адрес: 101000, Москва, ул. Мясницкая, д. 20
Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики»
Редакция журнала "Вестник международных организаций"

Фактический адрес: Малая Ордынка, 17, каб. 417.

Тел.: +7 495 772-95-90 добав. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru


 

Индексирование

Джагитян Э. П.

Перспективы и риски формирования институциональной структуры банковского регулирования в ЕАЭС

2019. Т. 14. № 2. С. 245–274 [содержание номера]

Посткризисные преобразования в сфере международного банковского регулирования, известные как Базель III, оставляют нерешенным ряд институциональных аспектов реформы, что ставит под сомнение эффективность функции международного финансового посредничества для обеспечения устойчивого экономического роста. С другой стороны, отсутствие перспектив внедрения стандартов Базеля III в глобальном масштабе на фоне интернационализации банковской деятельности является одной из главных причин регулятивных асимметрий, которые трудно разрешить на национальном уровне. В этих условиях сближение национальных механизмов банковского регулирования и формирование региональной регулятивной конструкции являются одной из центральных задач правительств и регуляторов по защите банковских секторов от системных рисков, о чем свидетельствует единый надзорный механизм в странах еврозоны.

Укрепление стрессоустойчивости банковских секторов ЕАЭС и активное вовлечение банков в орбиту задач евразийской экономической интеграции потребуют формирования региональной системы банковского регулирования и надзора. Вместе с тем, поскольку разнорежимность национальных регулятивных механизмов может оказаться тормозом формирования механизма евразийского регулирования банковской сферы в отсутствие наднациональных институтов регулирования, запуск регулятивного механизма в ЕАЭС будет зависеть от того, будет ли формат «мини-Базель III», согласованный между государствами-членами ЕАЭС в качестве методологического ядра регионализации и наднационализации, способствовать разрешению регулятивной трилеммы между возможностями, востребованностью и потенциалом наднационализации.

Институциональный аспект «мини-Базеля III» объективно сопряжен с вопросом полноформатности будущего наднационального органа по регулированию финансового рынка ЕАЭС, однако издержки сближения могут превысить преимущества моноинституциональной архитектуры регулирования вследствие реальных и неявных рисков разнорежимности национальных моделей регулирования. В этой связи мы рассматриваем альтернативные сценарии формирования механизма банковского регулирования в ЕАЭС, которые могут быть востребованы с точки зрения оптимизации логистики регулирования и алгоритмов сближения его национальных механизмов. На основе систематизации преимуществ и рисков каждого из сценариев и сравнительного анализа их состоятельности по обеспечению континуума функции финансового посредничества и достижения финансовой стабильности в ЕАЭС мы пришли к выводу об отсутствии в настоящее время каких-либо приоритетных путей формирования наднациональной регулятивной архитектуры в ЕАЭС. Вместе с тем, интеграционным ориентиром сближения и ориентиром наднационализации могло бы стать сходство структуры национальных банковских секторов и выбор наименее затратного сценария, но при условии дополнения предполагаемого наднационального органа по регулированию финансового рынка ЕАЭС органом по координации процесса регулятивного сближения.

 

Библиографическое описание: Джагитян Э.П. (2019) Перспективы и риски формирования институциональной структуры банковского регулирования в ЕАЭС // Вестник международных организаций. Т. 14 . № 2. С. 245-274 (на русском и английском языках). DOI: 10.17323/1996-7845-2019-02-10.
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss