Hide
Раскрыть
 
INTERNATIONAL
ORGANISATIONS
RESEARCH
JOURNAL



ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081


Contacts:

Postal address:  20, Myasnitskaya str., Moscow, Russia 101000
National Research University Higher School of Economics
International Organisations Research Journal (IORJ) editors office

Actual address: office 417, bld. 17, Malaya Ordynka,  Moscow
Tel.+7 495 772-95-90 ext. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru

Indexed in 

    


   

 
 

Liudmila Zakharova

The Influence of UN Security Council Sanctions on the North Korean Economy

2019. Vol. 14. No. 2. P. 223–244 [issue contents]

This article examines the economic sanctions imposed by the UN Security Council (UNSC) on the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK or North Korea) in 2006–2017 in response to Pyongyang’s nuclear tests and missile launches. The UNSC adopted a number of resolutions containing obligations for all UN member states. Some of them have a direct impact both on North Korea’s economic contacts with the outside world and on the country’s economic development. The restrictive measures imposed against the DPRK in 2016–2017 were particularly biting.

The purpose of this study is to explore economic sanctions imposed on the DPRK by the UNSC and examine their possible consequences for the North Korean economy.

The study is based on a systems approach. It examines the DPRK’s economy as a system, and the UNSC sanctions as an external factor that influences its development. Methods of comparative analysis are applied to explore the dynamics of the tightening sanctions regime. Statistical and analytical methods are also used to evaluate the current state of the North Korean economy, identify the key factors of its development and the potential impact of multilateral sanctions.

In the 1960s, the DPRK classified most of its economic statistics and sometimes released only certain indicators, such as the gross domestic product (GDP) for certain years. Therefore, to analyze the long-term dynamics of North Korean economic development it is necessary to use evaluations from secondary sources, including international organizations and government agencies of the Republic of Korea (ROK). It is estimated that the last decade was marked by the growth of North Korea’s GDP despite the restrictions imposed by the UN Security Council. Pyongyang’s efforts to expand foreign economic relations, as well as the growth of a market sector in the country’s socialist economy contributed to that upward trend.

The present study identifies important consequences that multilateral sanctions might have for the North Korean economy. By the end of 2017, North Korea was effectively cut off from the global banking system and substantially restricted in its foreign trade, investment, transport and scientific ties. In addition to a significant drop in exports, all external transactions for North Korean companies have become more expensive. The DPRK will have to search for new ways of interacting with the world economy, including the use of cryptocurrencies. Previously export-oriented producers in North Korea will be forced to focus on the domestic market. With increased local competition and limited access to resources, big companies connected with the state will probably oust smaller “private” forms of business from the market. An important unintended result of international sanctions is the negative humanitarian impact on the civilian population of the DPRK.

Citation:

Zakharova L. (2019) The Influence of UN Security Council Sanctions on the North Korean Economy. International Organisations Research Journal, vol. 14, no 2, pp. 223-244 (in English). DOI: 10.17323/1996-7845-2019-02-09.

BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss

Скрыть
Раскрыть
 
журнал
ВЕСТНИК
МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫХ
ОРГАНИЗАЦИЙ
Образование, наука, новая экономика

ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081



Контакты:

Почтовый адрес: 101000, Москва, ул. Мясницкая, д. 20
Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики»
Редакция журнала "Вестник международных организаций"

Фактический адрес: Малая Ордынка, 17, каб. 417.

Тел.: +7 495 772-95-90 добав. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru


 

Индексирование

Захарова Л. В.

Влияние санкций Совета Безопасности ООН на экономику КНДР

2019. Т. 14. № 2. С. 223–244 [содержание номера]

Статья посвящена экономическим санкциям, введенным Советом Безопасности ООН (СБ ООН) в отношении КНДР с 2006 по 2017 гг. в ответ на ядерные испытания и ракетные запуски Пхеньяна. За этот период было принято несколько резолюций, содержащих обязательства для всех государств-членов ООН, часть из которых имеет непосредственное влияние как на экономические контакты Северной Кореи с внешним миром, так и на развитие ее экономики в целом. Особой жесткостью отличается пакет ограничительных мер, зафиксированных в резолюциях СБ ООН, принятых в 2016-2017 гг.

Целью исследования является проведение структурированного анализа введенных против КНДР экономических санкций и выявление возможных последствий международных ограничений для северокорейской экономики.

В основе исследования лежит системный подход, представляющий экономику КНДР как систему, а санкционный режим СБ ООН как внешний фактор, влияющий на ее развитие. При анализе текстов резолюций применялсяметод сравнительного анализа, позволяющий рассмотреть процесс ужесточения санкций в динамике. Изучение современного состояния северокорейской экономики, ключевых факторов ее развития и влияния международных санкций потребовало использования статистического и аналитического метода исследования.

КНДР в 1960-е годы засекретила большую часть своей экономической статистики и иногда обнародует лишь некоторые показатели, например, объем ВВП за отдельные годы. В связи с этим при анализе динамики развития северокорейской экономики за длительные периоды приходится использовать оценочные показатели из вторичных источников, в том числе международных организаций и государственных учреждений Республики Корея. По имеющимся оценкам, последнее десятилетие было отмечено ростом ВВП Северной Кореи, несмотря на введенные СБ ООН ограничения. Этому способствовали усилия Пхеньяна по расширению внешнеэкономических связей, а также распространение рыночных элементов в социалистической экономике КНДР.

В результате введенных СБ ООН санкций к концу 2017 г. Северная Корея была фактически отрезана от мировой банковской системы, существенно ограничена в своих внешних торговых, инвестиционных, транспортных и научных связях. Среди важных последствий этого для экономики КНДР автор статьи выделяет сокращение экспорта, «удорожание» всех внешних транзакций для северокорейских компаний, необходимость поиска новых путей взаимодействия с мировой экономикой, вынужденную переориентацию на внутренний рынок для ранее экспортоориентированных производителей, а также негативные гуманитарные последствия международных санкций для гражданского населения КНДР. Существенное ограничение потока и удорожание поступающих из-за границы ресурсов в долгосрочной перспективе может привести к усилению крупных компаний, связанных с государством, за счет вытеснения более малых «частных» форм бизнеса, обладающих меньшими возможностями.

Библиографическое описание: Захарова Л.В. (2019) Влияние санкций Совета Безопасности ООН на экономику КНДР // Вестник международных организаций. Т. 14 .№ 2. С. 223-244 (на русском и английском языках). DOI: 10.17323/1996-7845-2019-02-09.
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss