Hide
Раскрыть
 
INTERNATIONAL
ORGANISATIONS
RESEARCH
JOURNAL

ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081



Contacts:

Postal address:  20, Myasnitskaya str., Moscow, Russia 101000
National Research University Higher School of Economics
International Organisations Research Journal (IORJ) editors office


Actual address: office 417, bld. 17, Malaya Ordynka,  Moscow

Tel.+7 495 772-95-90 ext. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru   

 
Journal's Indexing


Evgeny Treshchenkov

Resilience in Discourses of the European Union and International Organizations

2019. Vol. 14. No. 1. P. 55–75 [issue contents]

Lately, the European Union (EU) has faced multiple internal and external challenges. The conceptual response of EU institutions was “A Global Strategy for the European Union’s Foreign and Security Policy” (June 2016). At the core of the understanding of what was happening, as well as of the prospects of overcoming those crises, sat the concept of “resilience.” It has been some time since this concept appeared in the discourses of international organizations and its meaning remains volatile, situational and dependent on the scope of application, the relevant context and the authorship.

The purpose of this study is to examine the specificity of use of the concept of resilience in the discourses of the EU and various international organizations, as well as the interrelation between those uses. The sample encompasses organizations of particular importance to the European integration project and to global and regional governance, including the Council of Europe, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE), the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and those which comprise the United Nations system (the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the World Bank, etc.). Since the empirical material consists mostly of official texts produced by international organizations, the preferred method of study is discourse analysis.

The analysis examines the Brussels-advanced notion of resilience from a more distant perspective, namely, within the coordinate system of global and regional governance represented by Western-dominated multilateral institutions. The study identifies channels and agents responsible for the concept’s penetration into the discourses of the EU and other international organizations. Conclusions are drawn regarding similarities and divergences in the articulations of resilience. Particular focus is put on the interrelation between the concept and the neo-liberal approach to risk management and security.

Citation: Treshchenkov E. (2019) Resilience in Discourses of the European Union and International Organizations. International Organisations Research Journal, vol. 14, no 1, pp. 55-75 (in English). DOI: 10.17323/1996-7845-2019-01-04.
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss

Скрыть
Раскрыть
 
журнал
ВЕСТНИК
МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫХ
ОРГАНИЗАЦИЙ
Образование, наука, новая экономика

ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081



Контакты:

Почтовый адрес: 101000, Москва, ул. Мясницкая, д. 20
Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики»
Редакция журнала "Вестник международных организаций"

Фактический адрес: Малая Ордынка, 17, каб. 417.

Тел.: +7 495 772-95-90 добав. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru


 

Индексирование

Трещенков Е. Ю.

Стрессоустойчивость (resilience) в дискурсах Европейского союза и международных организаций

2019. Т. 14. № 1. С. 55–75 [содержание номера]

В последние годы Европейский союз столкнулся с множественными внутренними и внешними вызовами. В концептуальном плане одним из ответов управленцев Евросоюза стала Глобальная стратегия внешней политики и безопасности (июнь 2016 г.). Ядром видения происходящего, а также перспектив выхода из кризиса стала концепция «стрессоустойчивости» (resilience). Само понятие стрессоустойчивости имеет англосаксонское происхождение и появилось в дискурсе международных организаций давно, при этом интенсивность обращения к нему поступательно возрастает.

Целью предлагаемого исследования является выявление специфики присутствия стрессоустойчивости в дискурсах Евросоюза и международных организаций, а также взаимосвязей между ними. В исследование были включены организации, имеющие особое значение для европейского интеграционного проекта, а также глобального и регионального управления – Совет Европы, НАТО, ОБСЕ, ОЭСР и организации системы ООН (МВФ, Всемирный банк и т.д.). Поскольку источниковой базой исследования являются, прежде всего, документы международных организаций, в качестве методологической основы был выбран анализ дискурсов.

Проведенный анализ позволил взглянуть на понятие «стрессоустойчивости», продвигаемое Брюсселем, более широко – в системе координат глобального и регионального управления, представленного западными многосторонними институтами. В исследовании были определены основные каналы и агенты проникновения понятия в дискурс Евросоюза и других международных организаций. Сделаны выводы относительно схожих черт и противоречий в артикуляции стрессоустойчивости. Отдельное внимание уделено взаимосвязи понятия с неолиберальным подходом к управлению рисками.

Библиографическое описание: Трещенков Е.Ю. (2019) Стрессоустойчивость (resilience) в дискурсах Европейскогосоюза и международных организаций // Вестник международных организаций. Т. 14. № 1. С. 55–75.DOI: 10.17323/1996-7845-2019-01-04
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss