Hide
Раскрыть
 
INTERNATIONAL
ORGANISATIONS
RESEARCH
JOURNAL

ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081



Contacts:

Postal address:  20, Myasnitskaya str., Moscow, Russia 101000
National Research University Higher School of Economics
International Organisations Research Journal (IORJ) editors office


Actual address: office 417, bld. 17, Malaya Ordynka,  Moscow

Tel.+7 495 772-95-90 ext. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru   

 
Journal's Indexing


Inna Andronova , Andrei Shelepov

Potential for Strengthening the NDB’s and AIIB’s Role in the Global Financial System

2019. Vol. 14. No. 1. P. 39–54 [issue contents]

New multilateral development banks that became fully operational just three years ago – the Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB) and the New Development Bank (NDB) – have actually finished their formation and built large-scale project portfolios. Nevertheless, emerging economies’ needs and new banks’ aspiration for a greater role among international financial institutions pose a number of further challenges.

This article aims to assess the trajectory of the new institutions and to identify their potential contribution to the transformation of the global financial system in accordance with interests of their key shareholders – emerging markets and developing economies.

The authors consider key channels for increasing the NDB and AIIB influence in the system of multilateral banks, assess the progress achieved by the two banks, and identify risks and prospects for further strengthening the positions of the two institutions.

The authors conclude that the NDB needs to integrate a number of additional measures into its medium-term strategy in order to increase its loan portfolio and expand its geography, and also specify the steps the strategy contains to expand the scale of operations, taking into account the identified opportunities and risks. Unlike the NDB, where there is formally no single country leader, the prospects for further strengthening the AIIB positions depend on several key factors, mainly determined by China’s role in its capital and governance mechanisms. According to the authors, the AIIB, compared to the NDB, will be relatively more effective in overcoming the limitations for increasing the scale of operations and gaining influence among other multilateral institutions. However, the transformational potential of the AIIB, and especially the NDB, in the global financial system will remain quite limited in the foreseeable future.

Citation: Andronova I., Shelepov A. (2019) Potential for Strengthening the NDB’s and AIIB’s Role in the Global Financial System. International Organisations Research Journal, vol. 14, no 1, pp. 39-54 (in English). DOI: 10.17323/1996-7845-2019-01-03.
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss

Скрыть
Раскрыть
 
журнал
ВЕСТНИК
МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫХ
ОРГАНИЗАЦИЙ
Образование, наука, новая экономика

ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081



Контакты:

Почтовый адрес: 101000, Москва, ул. Мясницкая, д. 20
Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики»
Редакция журнала "Вестник международных организаций"

Фактический адрес: Малая Ордынка, 17, каб. 417.

Тел.: +7 495 772-95-90 добав. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru


 

Индексирование

Андронова И. В. , Шелепов А. В.

Возможности усиления влияния НБР и АБИИ в глобальной финансовой системе

2019. Т. 14. № 1. С. 39–54 [содержание номера]

Полноценно функционирующие всего лишь три года многосторонние банки развития – Азиатский банк инфраструктурных инвестиций (АБИИ) и Новый банк развития БРИКС (НБР) – фактически завершили этап становления, сформировав достаточно масштабные портфели проектов. Тем не менее, нужды стран с формирующимися рынками и необходимость укрепления позиций новых банков в системе международных финансовых институтов ставят перед ними ряд дальнейших задач.

Целью данной статьи является оценка траектории развития двух новых институтов и выявление возможностей их влияния на глобальную финансовую систему в интересах ключевых акционеров – стран с формирующимися рынками.

Авторы рассматривают направления, по которым возможно усиление влияния НБР и АБИИ в системе многосторонних банков, оценивают достигнутый прогресс, риски и перспективы дальнейшего укрепления позиций двух институтов.

По результатам исследования авторы приходят к выводу, что НБР для наращивания кредитного портфеля и расширения географии деятельности может быть целесообразно интегрировать в свою среднесрочную стратегию ряд дополнительных мер, а также конкретизировать содержащиеся в ней шаги по расширению масштабов операций с учетом выявленных возможностей и рисков. В отличие от НБР, где формально нет единственного странового лидера, перспективы дальнейшего укрепления позиций АБИИ зависят от нескольких ключевых факторов, определяемых в основном ролью Китая в его капитале и механизмах управления. АБИИ, по мнению авторов, сможет, в сравнении с НБР, с меньшей трудностью преодолеть ограничения для динамичного роста масштабов операций и усиления влияния среди других многосторонних институтов. Тем не менее, трансформационный потенциал в отношении глобальной финансовой системы АБИИ, и тем более НБР, в обозримом будущем останется крайне ограниченным.

Библиографическое описание: Андронова И.В., Шелепов А.В. (2019) Возможности усиления влияния НБР и АБИИв глобальной финансовой системе // Вестник международных организаций. Т. 14. № 1. С. 39–54. DOI:10.17323/1996-7845-2019-01-03
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss