Hide
Раскрыть
 
INTERNATIONAL
ORGANISATIONS
RESEARCH
JOURNAL

ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081



Contacts:

Postal address:  20, Myasnitskaya str., Moscow, Russia 101000
National Research University Higher School of Economics
International Organisations Research Journal (IORJ) editors office


Actual address: office 417, bld. 17, Malaya Ordynka,  Moscow

Tel.+7 495 772-95-90 ext. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru   

 
Journal's Indexing


Alina Shenfel'dt1
  • 1 National Research University Higher School of Economics, 20 Myasnitskaya Str., Moscow, 101000, Russian Federation

The European Development Response to the Refugee and Migration Crisis

2018. Vol. 13. No. 4. P. 195–212 [issue contents]

This paper is focused on the European development response to the refugee and migration crisis. European development aid was impacted by the refugee and migration crisis and appeared to be a tool to smooth the consequences of the crisis in Europe. The author conducted semi-structured interviews with scholars, policymakers and representatives of civil society and came to conclusion that the European Union (EU) and its members, instead of developing a strategic programme to resolve this structural issue, used a tactical solution to achieve the short-term goal of stopping migration. Short-term motivations prevailed over a long-term strategy and resulted in the politicization of development aid in policy papers: there was a significant change in the discourse regarding migration and development assistance. While EU members have indeed excessively used official development assistance (ODA) to host refugees in their countries, EU development programmes in African countries have been largely relabeled as “migration-related.” So far there is no evidence-based research that redistribution of aid beneficiaries has taken place as a result of the policy to tackle the “root causes” of migration.

This paper first outlines the European policy framework on development assistance which is aimed at migration management. Then it identifies the EU initiatives to mainstream migration into the development agenda, and considers members’ use of ODA to cover domestic expenses for refugees and asylum seekers. The paper concludes by outlining the key concerns regarding instrumentalization of aid.

Citation: Shenfeldt A. (2018) The European Development Response to the Refugee and Migration Crisis. International Organisations Research Journal, vol. 13, no 4, pp. 195-212 (in English). DOI: 10.17323/1996-7845-2018-04-09.
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss

Скрыть
Раскрыть
 
журнал
ВЕСТНИК
МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫХ
ОРГАНИЗАЦИЙ
Образование, наука, новая экономика

ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081



Контакты:

Почтовый адрес: 101000, Москва, ул. Мясницкая, д. 20
Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики»
Редакция журнала "Вестник международных организаций"

Фактический адрес: Малая Ордынка, 17, каб. 417.

Тел.: +7 495 772-95-90 добав. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru


 

Индексирование

Шенфельдт А. А.1
  • 1 НИУ ВШЭ, 101000, Россия, Москва, ул. Мясницкая, д.20

Использование политики в целях развития для разрешения миграционного кризиса в Европе

2018. Т. 13. № 4. С. 195–212 [содержание номера]

В фокусе статьи – использование политики по содействию развитию европейскими странами для разрешения миграционного кризиса. Европейская помощь в целях развития (ОПР) не избежала воздействия со стороны миграционного кризиса и стала инструментом для сглаживания ее последствий в странах ЕС. Проведя полустандартизированные интервью с исследователями, должностными лицами и представителями гражданского общества, автор статьи пришел к выводу, что вместо стратегического планирования по разрешению проблемы, носящий структурный характер, ЕС и страны-члены приняли тактическое решение по достижению краткосрочной цели по сдерживанию миграции. В результате произошла политизация помощи в целях развития на доктринальном уровне и существенно изменился политический дискурс по вопросам миграции и ОПР. При этом, в то время как страны-члены ЕС действительно прибегли в чрезмерному использованию ОПР для приема беженцев в своих странах, многие программы развития ЕС в африканских странах были переименованы в программы, важные с миграционной точки зрения. К этому моменту нет исследований, демонстрирующих, что произошло перераспределение помощи между странами-бенефициарами в результате политики борьбы с «коренными причинами» миграции.

Статья начинается с описания европейских политических рамок по использованию политики по содействию развитию для управления миграцией. Далее описываются инициативы ЕС по продвижению вопросов миграции в повестку содействия развитию и анализируется подход стран-членов ЕС по использованию ОПР для приема беженцев. В завершении статьи перечисляются основные проблемы, связанные с инструментализацией ОПР.

Библиографическое описание:

Шенфельдт А.А. (2018) Использование политики в целях развития для разрешения миграционного кризиса в Европе // Вестник международных организаций. Т. 13. № 4. С. 195-212 (на русском и английском языках). DOI: 10.17323/1996-7845-2018-04-09.

doi
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss