Hide
Раскрыть
 
INTERNATIONAL
ORGANISATIONS
RESEARCH
JOURNAL

ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081



Contacts:

Postal address:  20, Myasnitskaya str., Moscow, Russia 101000
National Research University Higher School of Economics
International Organisations Research Journal (IORJ) editors office


Actual address: office 417, bld. 17, Malaya Ordynka,  Moscow

Tel.+7 495 772-95-90 ext. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru   

 
Journal's Indexing


Marina Larionova, Elizaveta Safonkina

The First Five Decades of Cooperation for Development. Actors, Achievements and Challenges

2018. Vol. 13. No. 4. P. 96–121 [issue contents]

The sustainable development goals (SDGs) adopted in 2015 by the United Nations (UN) in the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development collectively serve as a universal guide for developed and developing countries in their national policies and international cooperation aimed at combating global challenges. The SDGs build on the outcomes of the Global Partnership for Development Co-operation (GPEDC), the foundations of which were laid in the 20th century. This article explores the system of international development cooperation as it evolved in the UN from 1946 until the adoption of the UN Millennium Declaration in 2000. It analyzes the resolutions and official records of the main UN bodies, with emphasis on the General Assembly (GA) and the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC). Content analysis of the records reveals the delegations’ positions, interests, contradictions and tensions which may have been concealed by the smooth text of the resolutions.

Four development decades culminated in adoption of the Millennium Declaration. Each stage had its achievements and problems. The main principles, mechanisms and areas of cooperation were molded in early sessions of the GA and ECOSOC. The creation of development support instruments began in mid-1940s, when the World Health Organization (WHO), the United Nations International Children’s Emergency Fund (UNICEF), the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), the Expanded Programme of Technical Assistance (EPTA) and later the UN Special Fund were established. The dollar monopoly was entrenched. The expansion of international trade and removal of barriers to trade issues gained prominence in UN resolutions in the 1950s. In 1960 the goal of increasing flows of assistance and capital to developing countries to 1% of the combined national incomes of economically developed countries was set for the first time.

The period from 1961–1970 was marked by the adoption of the Programme for International Development Co-operation — including the First United Nations Development Decade and the World Food Programme (WFP), the establishment of the UN Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO) and the UN Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD), and by the elaboration of the international development strategy for the second development decade. The need for international monetary reform was debated in conjunction with the UN’s pursuit of a solution to the problems of rising debt and international liquidity.

The key milestones of the second decade include the gradual integration of development and environment issues, efforts to resolve the international monetary crisis and alleviate the rising debt burden, an increase of pledged targets for the UN Development Programme (UNDP), the WFP and Special Fund, the decision on the Charter of Economic Rights and Duties of States, efforts to implement the differential treatment principle with regard to developing countries within the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT), adoption of theInternational Development Strategy for the Third United Nations Development Decade, and a failed attempt to launch “global negotiations on restructuring of international economic relations on the basis of the principles of justice and equality in order to provide for steady economic development.”

In the third decade, progress was made toward strengthening the science and technology capacity as well as the industrial and resource development capacity of developing countries. The UN endorsed the Global Strategy for Health for All by the Year 2000, adopted the Declaration on the Right to Development and theInternational Development Strategy for the Fourth United Nations Development Decade. The transition to a sustainable development model was a major achievement. The economic recession,high rates of interest, inflation and mounting deficits, the problems of liquidity and balance of payments, protectionism and structural imbalances in the world economy required a comprehensive decision on the reform of the international monetary system. However, global negotiations were deadlocked due to the position taken by the Group of 7 (G7) that the independence of the specialized agencies such as the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the World Bank (WB) and the World Trade Organization (WTO) should be guaranteed. Despite efforts by the Group of 77 (G77) to deal comprehensively with thefull range of economic issues, the G7’s insistence on the 1982 Versailles summit formula blocked global negotiations, definingthe system’srigidity for many years to come and contributing to its failure to prevent the 1998 and 2008 crises.

The Agenda for Development adopted in June 1997 and the UN Millennium Declaration adopted in September 2000 became the landmarks of the fourth decade and development cooperation history.

The international community came a long way in building and consolidating development cooperation in the second half of the 20th century. The UN became a cradle and a driver of this process and was a factor in its success. Indisputable achievements resulting from collective efforts over 55 years include a consistent consolidation of its foundational programme documents from the first development decade to the Millennium Development Goals (MGDs), continuous improvement of the review and appraisal process, integration of environmental issues into the development agenda, establishment of key development cooperation institutions and a significant increase in financing for development. However, efforts to create the conditions for sustained progress and development restructuring of the international economic system taking account of the interests of developing countries failed. The 21st century inherited the systemic problems of the international monetary and trade systems.

Citation: Larionova M., Safonkina E. (2018) The First Five Decades of Cooperation for Development. Actors, Achievements and Challenges. International Organisations Research Journal , vol. 13, no 4, pp. 96-121 (in English). DOI: 10.17323/1996-7845-2018-04-05.
doi
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss

Скрыть
Раскрыть
 
журнал
ВЕСТНИК
МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫХ
ОРГАНИЗАЦИЙ
Образование, наука, новая экономика

ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081



Контакты:

Почтовый адрес: 101000, Москва, ул. Мясницкая, д. 20
Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики»
Редакция журнала "Вестник международных организаций"

Фактический адрес: Малая Ордынка, 17, каб. 417.

Тел.: +7 495 772-95-90 добав. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru


 

Индексирование

Ларионова М. В., Сафонкина Е. А.

Первые десятилетия сотрудничества для развития. Участники, достижения и трудности

2018. Т. 13. № 4. С. 96–121 [содержание номера]

Принятые в 2015 г. Цели устойчивого развития (ЦУР) до 2030 г. являются мировым ориентиром для развитых и развивающихся государств в выработке национальной политики и осуществлении международного сотрудничества с целью совместной борьбы с глобальными вызовами. ЦУР опираются на результаты работы всех участников глобального партнерства в целях развития, основы которого были заложены ООН еще в XX веке. Статья посвящена эволюцию системы международного сотрудничества в целях развития, складывавшейся в рамках ООН, в период с 1946 по 2000 г. (год принятия Декларации тысячелетия). Исследование опирается на анализ текстов резолюций и официальных отчетов ключевых органов ООН, прежде всего, Генеральной Ассамблеи и Экономического и Социального Совета ООН (ЭКОСОС). Контент анализ записей прений позволяет выявить официальные позиции делегаций, интересы и противоречия, скрывающиеся за сухими формулировками резолюций.

Четыре десятилетия развития завершились принятием Декларации тысячелетия ООН. На каждом из этапов эволюции системы были достижения и проблемы.С первых сессий ГА и ЭКОСОС формировались основные принципы, механизмы и направления сотрудничества. Уже в конце 1940-х начался процесс создания инструментов содействия развитию. Созданы Всемирная организация здравоохранения, Детский фонд ООН, Продовольственная и сельскохозяйственная организация ООН, Расширенная программа технической помощи, региональные экономические комиссии, Специальный Фонд ООН. На первом этапе становления инструментов сотрудничества для развития утвердилась монополия доллара. Значительное место в резолюциях о развитии занимали вопросы развития мирового рынка, улучшения условий торговли для развития. В 1960 г. впервые сформулирована задача увеличения предоставления международной помощи и капитала до 1 процента национального дохода экономически развитых стран.

Период 1961-1970 гг. ознаменовался принятием Программы международного экономического сотрудничества – первой «Декады развития» ООН и Мировой продовольственной программы,созданием ООН по промышленному развитию (ЮНИДО), Конференции ООН по торговле и развитию (ЮНКТАД) и ПРООН, разработкой Международной стратегии развития на второе Десятилетие развития ООН. В связи с задачей решения проблемы роста задолженности и обеспечения международной ликвидности в повестку дня вошли вопросы реформы международной валютной системы.

Ключевые события второго десятилетия включают постепенную интеграцию проблем развития и окружающей среды; усилия по преодолению международного валютного кризиса, обеспечению ликвидности, облегчению нарастающего бремени задолженности развивающихся стран; рост целевых заданий по Программе развития ООН, Мировой продовольственной программе и специальным фондам; решения о разработке и принятии Хартии экономических прав и обязанностей государств; усилия по реализации принципа дифференцированного отношения к развивающимся странам в рамках ГАТТ; подготовку и принятие Международной стратегии на третье десятилетие развития ООН; неудачную попытку запуска глобальных переговоров поперестройке международной экономической системы.

Третье десятилетие знаменательно усилиями по укреплению научно-технического, промышленного потенциала, развитию энергетических ресурсов развивающихся стран, принятием Глобальной стратегии обеспечения здоровья для всех к 2000 г., принятием Декларации о праве на развитие, подготовкой и принятием Международной стратегии развития на четвертое Десятилетие развития. Достижением стала переориентации сотрудничества в сторону моделей устойчивого развития. Замедление темпов экономического роста, неустойчивость валют, усиление протекционизма, структурные диспропорции в мировой экономике требовали системного решения по реформе международной валютной системы, однако глобальные переговоры зашли в тупик, поскольку позиция «семерки» о гарантии независимости специализированных учреждений создавала непреодолимое препятствие в поиске комплексных решений перестройки международных экономических отношений. Этот подход определил ригидность системы на долгие годы и ее неспособность предотвратить кризисы 1998 и 2008 гг.

В четвертом десятилетии важнейшими вехами в сотрудничестве для развития стало принятие 20 июня 1997 г. Повестки дня для развития и Декларации тысячелетия Организации Объединенных Наций.

Таким образом, во второй половине XXвека международное сообщество прошло длинный путь формирования сотрудничества для развития. ООН стала колыбелью и двигателем этого процесса, основным фактором его успеха. Безусловные достижения пятидесяти пяти лет коллективных усилий включают последовательную консолидацию программного фундамента сотрудничества от первой Декады развития к Целям развития тысячелетия; совершенствование инструментов обзора и оценки результатов программ; интеграцию вопросов развития и окружающей среды; а также создание ключевых инструментов и рост финансирования для развития. Задача по формированию внешних условий развития на основе перестройки международной экономической системы с учетом интересов развивающихся стран не была реализована. Системные проблемы международной валютной и торговой системы остались в наследство XXI веку.

Библиографическое описание: Ларионова М. В., Сафонкина Е.А.(2018) Первые десятилетия сотрудничества для развития. Участники, достижения и трудности // Вестник международных организаций. Т. 13. № 4. С. 96-121 (на русском и английском языках). DOI: 10.17323/1996-7845-2018-04-05.
doi
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss