Hide
Раскрыть
 
INTERNATIONAL
ORGANISATIONS
RESEARCH
JOURNAL

ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081



Contacts:

Postal address:  20, Myasnitskaya str., Moscow, Russia 101000
National Research University Higher School of Economics
International Organisations Research Journal (IORJ) editors office


Actual address: office 417, bld. 17, Malaya Ordynka,  Moscow

Tel.+7 495 772-95-90 ext. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru   

 
Journal's Indexing


Alexander Sergunin, Fey Gao

BRICS as the Subject of Study of International Relations Theory

2018. Vol. 13. No. 4. P. 55–73 [issue contents]

This article examines the phenomenon of the BRICS grouping of Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa from the perspective of several theories of international relations; in particular, power transition theory, soft power and peaceful coexistence concepts, the theory of “global regionalism” and status theories are reviewed. Each explains both the BRICS phenomenon and the role of this integration association in the present-day international relations system. It is concluded that, depending on research objectives and the way it is applied, each theory — despite limitations – has explanatory power. Together they create an interdisciplinary basis for studying complex phenomena such as the BRICS.

A number of modern theories hold that, along with the pursuit of purely material and pragmatic interests, the BRICS countries actively use this integration association to strengthen their positions in the world arena and elevate their international status.

It is also concluded that the BRICS succeeded in creating an image of an alternative model of world order based on the principles of cooperation, mutual respect and balance of interests, rather than mandate, discrimination and hierarchy. It is premature to make a statement that a principally new type of interstate relations or an international institution has been created within the BRICS framework. At the same time, it is also certain that some positive experience has already been accumulated in the framework of this forum, and that this association offers good prospects for the future. For this reason it is of considerable interest for international relations theory.

Citation: Sergunin A., Gao F. (2018) BRICS as the Subject of Study of International Relations Theory. International Organisations Research Journal, vol. 13, no 4, pp. 55-73 (in English). DOI: 10.17323/1996-7845-2018-04-03.
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss

Скрыть
Раскрыть
 
журнал
ВЕСТНИК
МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫХ
ОРГАНИЗАЦИЙ
Образование, наука, новая экономика

ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081



Контакты:

Почтовый адрес: 101000, Москва, ул. Мясницкая, д. 20
Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики»
Редакция журнала "Вестник международных организаций"

Фактический адрес: Малая Ордынка, 17, каб. 417.

Тел.: +7 495 772-95-90 добав. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru


 

Индексирование

Сергунин А. А., Гао Ф.

БРИКС как предмет изучения теории международных отношений

2018. Т. 13. № 4. С. 55–73 [содержание номера]

В статье анализируются различные интерпретации БРИКС современными теориями международных отношений. В частности, рассматриваются теория изменения соотношения сил, концепции «мягкой силы» и мирного сосуществования, теория «глобального регионализма», а также статусные теории. Каждая из них дает своё объяснения как самому феномену БРИКС, так и той роли, которую это интеграционное объединение играет в современной системе международных отношений. Делается вывод, что каждая из этих теорий, несмотря на известную ограниченность, может обладать эвристической ценностью - в зависимости от поставленных цели и задач исследования, а также способов применения. В совокупности они создают междисциплинарную основу для изучения такого сложного феномена, как БРИКС.

Ряд современных теорий склонен считать, что, наряду с преследованием сугубо материально-прагматических интересов, страны БРИКС активно используют это интеграционное объединение для укрепления своих позиций на мировой арене и повышения своего международного статуса.

Делается также вывод о том, что БРИКС преуспел в создании имиджа альтернативной модели мироустройства, основанной на принципах сотрудничества, взаимного уважения и баланса интересов, а не диктата, дискриминации и иерархии. Пока ещё преждевременно утверждать, что в рамках БРИКС действительно был создан принципиально новый тип межгосударственных отношений или международного института. В то же время, несомненно и то, что определенный позитивный опыт в рамках этого форума уже накоплен, что этот институт имеет неплохие перспективы на будущее и представляет для теории международных отношений значительный интерес.

Библиографическое описание: Гао Ф., Сергунин А.А. (2018) БРИКС как предмет изучения теории международных отношений. Вестник международных организаций. Т. 13. № 4. С. 55-73 (на русском и английском языках). DOI: 10.17323/1996-7845-2018-04-03.
doi
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss