Hide
Раскрыть
 
INTERNATIONAL
ORGANISATIONS
RESEARCH
JOURNAL

ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081



Contacts:

Postal address:  20, Myasnitskaya str., Moscow, Russia 101000
National Research University Higher School of Economics
International Organisations Research Journal (IORJ) editors office


Actual address: office 417, bld. 17, Malaya Ordynka,  Moscow

Tel.+7 495 772-95-90 ext. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru   

 
Journal's Indexing


Cecilia Nahón

Latin America in the G20: Continuities and Ruptures of the Regional Agenda (2008–2018)

2018. Vol. 13. No. 4. P. 39–54 [issue contents]

 

The Group of 20 (G20) broke onto the global scene shortly after the bankruptcy of the financial giant Lehman Brothers, which until then had been the fourth-largest investment bank in the United States with a 158-year long history. On 15 September 2008, the world witnessed the unthinkable. The international financial system was crumbling from within and traditional policy tools were unable to stop the fall. Since mid-2007, the collapse of housing prices and the implosion of the subprime mortgage market bubble had generated a wave of bankruptcies in the financial sector in the United States and Europe. In October 2008, both the TED spread indicator, which accounts for the level of stress in the U.S. banking sector, and the Emerging Market Bond Index (EMBI) Global spread index, which reflects the combined risk of 61 emerging markets, reached their historic peaks [IMF, 2017]. The message was clear: the financial crisis was not easing and the risks of global contagion were already being felt.

 

It was then that President George W. Bush, in the final months of his second term, decided to convene a summit of the heads of state of the main global economies. Reflecting the emerging multipolar order, in particular the rise of China, Bush issued invitations to his peers among the G20. The exclusive Group of 7 (G7) at the table of global governance — comprised of the main advanced economies — was thus expanded to include the largest emerging economies as well.[1] The G20 is comprised of nineteen national economies, plus the European Union, that are considered “systemically important” and that together account for more than 80% of global product, 75% of international trade and 66% of world population. Since 1999, the group had operated as a technical forum for financial coordination between finance ministers,[2] but in November 2008 the first G20 leaders’ summit took place in Washington DC. The presidents of the three largest Latin American economies — Argentina, Brazil and Mexico — participated in this inaugural summit.

 

In the decade that has passed since that first meeting, the leaders of the G20 have met a total of 12 times, and plan to do so again in November 2018 in Buenos Aires under the annual (rotating) G20 presidency of Argentina. Previously, Mexico had hosted the leaders’ summit in Los Cabos in 2012 and Brazil had served as the G20 coordinator in 2008 during the transition from a ministerial forum to forum for heads of state. This article explores the role and main contributions of the three Latin American economies in the G20 during the last decade, focusing in particular on the continuities and ruptures in the regional agenda towards the forum. With this goal in mind, the analysis begins with an overview of the metamorphosis of the G20 during its first decade. Then, the specific Latin American path is explored. The article closes with a brief presentation of an alternative approach and agenda for the G20.

Citation: Nahón C. (2018) Latin America in the G20: Continuities and Ruptures of the Regional Agenda (2008–2018). International Organisations Research Journal, vol. 13, no 4, pp. 39 - 54 (in English). DOI: 10.17323/1996-7845-2018-04-02.
Keywords: G20; agenda continuity
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss

Скрыть
Раскрыть
 
журнал
ВЕСТНИК
МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫХ
ОРГАНИЗАЦИЙ
Образование, наука, новая экономика

ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081



Контакты:

Почтовый адрес: 101000, Москва, ул. Мясницкая, д. 20
Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики»
Редакция журнала "Вестник международных организаций"

Фактический адрес: Малая Ордынка, 17, каб. 417.

Тел.: +7 495 772-95-90 добав. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru


 

Индексирование

Нахон С.

Латинская Америка в «Группе двадцати»: преемственность и новые темы повестки (2008-2018 гг.)

2018. Т. 13. № 4. С. 39–54 [содержание номера]

 «Группа двадцати» появилась на глобальной арене вскоре после банкротства финансового гиганта – банка “Lehman Brothers”, до того момента являвшегося четвертым по величине инвестиционным банком в США, банком с 158-летней историей. 15 сентября 2008 г. случилось невообразимое. Международная финансовая система пошатнулась, а традиционные инструменты политики были не в состоянии остановить это падение. Начавшийся с середины 2007 г. резкий спад цен на жилье и «схлопывание» рынка субстандартной ипотеки привели к волне банкротств в финансовом секторе в США и странах Европы. В октябре 2008 г. и индикатор спред «ти-И-ди» (“TED spread” indicator)[1], показывающий уровень стресса в банковском секторе США, и «глобальный индекс облигаций развивающихся стран» (“EMBI Global spread” index), который показывает уровень риска для 61 страны с переходной экономикой, достигли своих исторических максимумов [IMF, 2017] – свидетельство того, что финансовый кризис не ослаб, а, напротив, стал распространяться по всему миру.

Именно в тот момент президент Джордж Буш – младший, в тот период завершавший свой второй президентский срок, решил собрать саммит глав государств и правительств ключевых экономик мира. Выбор стран был обусловлен тенденциями формирования многостороннего миропорядка, в том числе возвышением Китая. Таким образом, «властители глобального управления» - клуб «Группы семи», объединяющий наиболее развитые экономики, был дополнен крупнейшими развивающимися странами.[2]«Двадцатка», объединившая 19 стран и Европейский союз, рассматривалась как «системно значимый институт», на долю которого приходится более 80% глобального производства, 75% - международной торговли и 66% - мирового населения. С 1999 г. группа действовала как технический форум для координации министров финансов стран-участниц,[3] однако в ноябре 2008 г. прошел первый саммит лидеров G20 в Вашингтоне. В инаугурационном саммите приняли участие главы трех крупнейших латиноамериканских экономик — Аргентины, Бразилии и Мексики.

За десятилетие, которое прошло с момента саммита в Вашингтоне, лидеры стран-участниц «двадцатки» встретились в общей сложности 12 раз. 13-ый саммит состоится в ноябре 2018 г. в Буэнос-Айресе в ходе председательства Аргентины. До этого саммит лидеров G20 принимала Мексика (в Лос-Кабосе), а Бразилия выступала в качестве координатора «двадцатки» в 2008 г. в ходе перехода от формата встреч министров к формату встреч лидеров. В данной статье исследуется роль и основной вклад трех латиноамериканских стран в деятельность «Группы двадцати» за последнее десятилетие. Автор, в частности, постарался проанализировать преемственность и новые темы в повестке G20, обусловленные региональными приоритетами. Вначале статьи представлен обзор изменений, происходивших с G20 на протяжении первого десятилетия ее работы. Затем исследуется вклад латиноамериканских стран в работу данного института. Статья завершается кратким представлением альтернативного подхода и повестки для «двадцатки».

Библиографическое описание: Нахон С. (2018) Латинская Америка в «Группе двадцати»: преемственность и новые темы повестки (2008-2018 гг.). Вестник международных организаций. Т. 13. № 4. С. 39-54 (на русском и английском языках). DOI: 10.17323/1996-7845-2018-04-02.
doi
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss