Hide
Раскрыть
 
INTERNATIONAL
ORGANISATIONS
RESEARCH
JOURNAL

ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081



Contacts:

Postal address:  20, Myasnitskaya str., Moscow, Russia 101000
National Research University Higher School of Economics
International Organisations Research Journal (IORJ) editors office


Actual address: office 417, bld. 17, Malaya Ordynka,  Moscow

Tel.+7 495 772-95-90 ext. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru   

 
Journal's Indexing


Aleksandr Korolev1, Veronika Shumkova1
  • 1 National Research University Higher School of Economics, 20 Myasnitskaya Str., Moscow, 101000, Russian Federation

Security Institutions in Greater Eurasia: Implications for Russia

2018. Vol. 13. No. 3. P. 70–81 [issue contents]

In this article, the authors analyze the current state and prospects for the development of key institutions in the field of regional security in Eurasia. ASEAN-led mechanisms and the Eurasian "continental" formats, represented by the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) and the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) have been chosen as a case-study.

Special focus is put on the possibility of connecting Russia with multilateral security initiatives in Eurasia in terms of promoting Russian strategic interests, as well as realizing the potential of the SCO as a structural pillar of the emerging geostrategic space - Greater Eurasia.

The authors conclude that the current state of regional institutions in the field of security does not fully correspond to Russia's interests due to the institutional limitations of multilateral formats.

According to the authors, the main reason why the ASEAN-led dialogue platforms on security issues are not able to realize its potential in addressing main challenges is the nature of the principles of ASEAN cooperation that hamper the process of making a collective decision.

Regarding the SCO, the authors believe that the key problem in the foreseeable future may be the achievement of consensus among the participating states after the enlargement (the accession of India and Pakistan) and, as a consequence, the need to transform the institutional format to new realities.

In conclusion, the authors argue that in the long-term perspective the development of the institutional environment of Greater Eurasia for the purpose of ensuring regional security should be carried out through close coordination between the SCO and other security formats - the CSTO and the ASEAN-led dialogue structures.

The article has been supported by a grant of the Russian Science Foundation. Project no. 17-18-01577 «Creation of Greater Eurasia and the Development of Strategy for Bilateral Cooperation Between Russia and Regional Countries».

Citation:

Korolev A., Shumkova V. (2018) Security Institutions in Greater Eurasia: Implications for Russia. International Organisations Research Journal, vol. 13, no 3, pp. (in Russian and English). DOI: 10.17323/1996-7845-2018-03-04.

doi
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss

Скрыть
Раскрыть
 
журнал
ВЕСТНИК
МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫХ
ОРГАНИЗАЦИЙ
Образование, наука, новая экономика

ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081



Контакты:

Почтовый адрес: 101000, Москва, ул. Мясницкая, д. 20
Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики»
Редакция журнала "Вестник международных организаций"

Фактический адрес: Малая Ордынка, 17, каб. 417.

Тел.: +7 495 772-95-90 добав. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru


 

Индексирование

Королев А. С.1, Шумкова В. А.1
  • 1 НИУ ВШЭ, 101000, Россия, Москва, ул. Мясницкая, д.20

Политические институты Большой Евразии: выводы для России

2018. Т. 13. № 3. С. 70–81 [содержание номера]

В данной статье авторы анализируют текущее состояние и перспективы развития ключевых институтов в сфере обеспечения региональной безопасности в Евразии. В качестве кейсов в работе выбраны асеаноцентричные механизмы и евразийские, «континентальные» форматы, представленные Шанхайской организацией сотрудничества (ШОС) и Организацией Договора о коллективной безопасности (ОДКБ).

Особый акцент в работе делается на возможности подключения России к многосторонним инициативам в сфере безопасности в Евразии с точки зрения продвижения стратегических интересов Москвы, а также реализации потенциала ШОС в качестве структурной опоры зарождающегося геостратегического пространства – Большой Евразии.

Авторы приходят к выводу, что нынешнее состояние региональных институтов в области безопасности не в полной мере соответствует российским интересам, что вызвано институциональной ограниченностью многосторонних форматов.

В частности, по мнению авторов, основной причиной, не позволяющей асеаноцентричным диалоговым площадкам по вопросам безопасности реализовать свой потенциал в решении поставленных задач, является характер принципов сотрудничества АСЕАН, затрудняющих процесс принятия коллективного решения.

Применительно к ШОС, авторы считают, что ключевой проблемой в обозримом будущем может стать достижение консенсуса между государствами-участниками после расширения формата (присоединения Индии и Пакистана) и, как следствие, необходимость трансформации институционального формата под новые реалии.

В заключение авторы приходят к выводу, что в долгосрочной перспективе развитие институциональной среды Большой Евразии с точки зрения обеспечения региональной безопасности целесообразно осуществлять путем тесной координации между ШОС и другими форматами безопасности – ОДКБ и асеаноцентричными площадками.

Статья подготовлена за счет гранта Российского научного фонда грант № 17-18-01577 «Формирование Сообщества Большой Евразии и стратегии двустороннего взаимодействия России со странами региона».

Библиографическое описание: Королев А.С., Шумкова В.А. (2018) Политические институты Большой Евразии: выводы для России // Вестник международных организаций. Т.13. №3. С. (на русском и английском языках). DOI: 10.17323/1996-7845-2018-03-04.
doi
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss