Hide
Раскрыть
 
INTERNATIONAL
ORGANISATIONS
RESEARCH
JOURNAL

ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081



Contacts:

Postal address:  20, Myasnitskaya str., Moscow, Russia 101000
National Research University Higher School of Economics
International Organisations Research Journal (IORJ) editors office


Actual address: office 417, bld. 17, Malaya Ordynka,  Moscow

Tel.+7 495 772-95-90 ext. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru   

 
Journal's Indexing


Anastasia Likhacheva 1, Grigoriy Kalachigin1
  • 1 National Research University Higher School of Economics, 20 Myasnitskaya Str., Moscow, 101000, Russian Federation

Risk Assessment of Trade Liberalization with Asian Countries in the Context of Russia’s Policy of Pivot to Asia

2018. Vol. 13. No. 3. P. 52–69 [issue contents]

Trade liberalization with Asian countries is a key issue on the agenda of Russia and the Eurasian Economic Union’s (EAEU) economic and trade connectivity with the Asia-Pacific region (APR). However, the signing of free trade agreements (FTAs) has traditionally been negatively perceived in both Russia and EAEU partner countries because of the extremely conservative prevailing trade policy. This study simulated the situation of full liberalization of Russian trade in goods with Rep. of Korea (here and after: Korea), Singapore, India, Japan and China to assess the risks of such agreements. The countries were selected on the basis of the current negotiating tracks of the EAEU and the analysis of Russian foreign trade with the APR countries. The simulation was performed using a partial equilibrium model built with the SMART software provided by the World Integrated Trade Solution.

The article highlights key product groups, increases in imports of which can be expected with a complete abolition of import duties by Russia (taking into account sensitive tariff lines). In addition, the authors conclude that in this case, imports of Indian and Korean products will increase by approximately 7.5%, and imports from Japan and Singapore, respectively, by 7% and 6.5% of the cost of imports from these countries in 2016. The simulation showed an 8% increase in imports from China, which in absolute terms exceeds the current level of trade with India and Singapore combined. This confirms the low probability of starting the FTA negotiations with China in short and medium term.

The article was supported by Russian Science Foundation Grant No 17-18-01577 “Developing the Community of Greater Eurasia and Strategy of Russia’s Bilateral Partnership with Countries of the Region”.

Citation: Likhacheva A.B., Kalachyhin H.M. (2018) Risk Assessment of Trade Liberalization with AsianCountries in the Context of Russia’s Policy of Pivot to Asia. International Organisations Research Journal,vol. 13, no 3, pp. 52–69 (in English). DOI: 10.17323/1996-7845-2018-03-03.
doi
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss

Скрыть
Раскрыть
 
журнал
ВЕСТНИК
МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫХ
ОРГАНИЗАЦИЙ
Образование, наука, новая экономика

ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081



Контакты:

Почтовый адрес: 101000, Москва, ул. Мясницкая, д. 20
Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики»
Редакция журнала "Вестник международных организаций"

Фактический адрес: Малая Ордынка, 17, каб. 417.

Тел.: +7 495 772-95-90 добав. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru


 

Индексирование

Лихачева А. Б. 1, Калачигин Г. М.1
  • 1 НИУ ВШЭ, 101000, Россия, Москва, ул. Мясницкая, д.20

Оценка рисков либерализации торговли товарами со странами Азии в рамках российской политики «Поворота на Восток»

2018. Т. 13. № 3. С. 52–69 [содержание номера]

Вопрос либерализации торговли со странами АТР – один из ключевых в повестке интеграции России и ЕАЭС в торгово-экономические связи в АТР. Однако заключение соглашений о зоне свободной торговли традиционно негативно воспринималось как в России, так и странах-партнерах ЕАЭС в силу превалирующей в них крайне консервативной торговой политики. Для оценки рисков таких соглашений была проведено исследование, моделирующее ситуацию полной либерализации торговли товарами России с Республикой Корея, Сингапуром, Индией, Японией и Китаем. Страны были выбраны на основе текущих переговорных треков ЕАЭС и анализа российской внешней торговли со странами АТР. Моделирование производилось с помощью модели частичного равновесия, встроенную в программу SMART, которая предоставляетсяWorldIntegratedTradeSolution.

В работе были выделены ключевые товарные группы, увеличение импорта которых можно ожидать при полной отмене тарифных пошлин с российской стороны (с учетом чувствительных тарифных линий). Кроме того, авторы пришли к выводу, что в таком случае импорт индийской и корейской продукции увеличится примерно на 7,5%, японской – на 7%, сингапурской – на 6,5% от стоимости импорта из данных стран в 2016 году. Моделирование показало увеличение импорта китайской продукции на 8%, однако, в абсолютном выражении данный прирост превышает текущий уровень торговли с Индией и Сингапуром вместе взятых, что подтверждает низкую вероятность запуска переговоров о ЗСТ с Китаем в кратко- и среднесрочном периоде.

Библиографическое описание: Лихачева А.Б., Калачигин Г.М. (2018) Оценка рисков либерализации торговли то-варами со странами Азии в рамках российской политики поворота на Восток // Вестник междуна-родных организаций. Т. 13. № 3. С. 52–69 (на русском и английском языках). DOI: 10.17323/1996-7845-2018-03-03.
doi
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss