Hide
Раскрыть
 
INTERNATIONAL
ORGANISATIONS
RESEARCH
JOURNAL

ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081



Contacts:

Postal address:  20, Myasnitskaya str., Moscow, Russia 101000
National Research University Higher School of Economics
International Organisations Research Journal (IORJ) editors office


Actual address: office 417, bld. 17, Malaya Ordynka,  Moscow

Tel.+7 495 772-95-90 ext. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru   

 
Journal's Indexing


Dmitry Vasfilov

Systems Analysis of Interaction between Russia and the European Union in the Post-Soviet Space 

2014. Vol. 9. No. 3. P. 31–46 [issue contents]

This article analyzes post-Soviet relations between Russia and the European Union using the theoretical framework of neoclassical realism. It finds that the post-Soviet level of competition between Russia and the EU is higher than required by the international system. The reason is rooted in the influence of a number of internal factors (or intervening variables). Consequently, elites in both Russia and the EU are not able to adequately understand the signals sent by the international system.

There is a wide variety of intervening variables; for example, there are factors caused by the political elites’ perceptions of each other’s intentions and of the international situation, factors related to inadequate information, factors related to the complex institutional structure of the EU and factors related to domestic political issues. In addition, the current international environment, characterized by a high degree of uncertainty, increases the effects of these intervening variables.

These effects result in inaccurate and incorrect processing of the signals of the international system by Russian and European elites. As a result, a subsystem of international relations has arisen in the post-Soviet space, featuring a highly competitive environment. However, there are only two major actors in the region: Russia and the EU. Small countries are too weak, so must choose to align themselves with either Russia or the Euone or the other. This causes a rivalry between Russia and the EU for influence on small and medium-sized countries in the post-Soviet space.

Citation: Vasfilov D. (2014) Systems Analysis of Interaction between Russia and the European Union in the Post-Soviet Space. International Organisations Research Journal, vol. 9, no 3, pp. 31-46 (in Russian and English).
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss

Скрыть
Раскрыть
 
журнал
ВЕСТНИК
МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫХ
ОРГАНИЗАЦИЙ
Образование, наука, новая экономика

ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081



Контакты:

Почтовый адрес: 101000, Москва, ул. Мясницкая, д. 20
Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики»
Редакция журнала "Вестник международных организаций"

Фактический адрес: Малая Ордынка, 17, каб. 417.

Тел.: +7 495 772-95-90 добав. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru


 

Индексирование

Васфилов Д. С.

Системный анализ взаимодействия России и Европейского союза на постсоветском пространстве  

2014. Т. 9. № 3. С. 31–46 [содержание номера]

В статье анализируются отношения России и Европейского союза на территории постсоветского пространства. В качестве теоретической базы используется сравнительно новый и комплексный подход –неоклассический реализм. Согласно результатам исследования, уровень конкуренции России и ЕС на постсоветском пространстве выше, чем того требует международная система. Это происходит потому, что элиты Российской Федерации и ЕС из-за влияния ряда внутренних факторов, называемых неоклассическими реалистами вмешивающимися переменными, не в состоянии корректно обработать импульсы, посылаемые международной системой.

Число вмешивающихся переменных весьма велико, среди них необходимо отметить факторы, связанные с восприятием политическими элитами намерений друг друга и международной обстановки; факторы, связанные с недостатком информации, а также со сложной институциональной структурой акторов и различными внутриполитическими проблемами. Кроме того, текущее состояние международной среды, характеризуемое высокой степенью неопределенности, способствует усилению влияния этих вмешивающихся переменных на обработку импульсов международной системы.

В результате не совсем корректной обработки этих импульсов на постсоветском пространстве возникает подсистема международных отношений, ключевой характеристикой которой является высококонкурентная среда. При этом главными акторами на постсоветском пространстве остаются Россия и Европейский союз, а остальные страны, будучи слишком слабыми, вынуждены выбирать, к какому из акторов примкнуть, и это вызывает соперничество между Россией и ЕС за влияние над данными странами.

Библиографическое описание: Васфилов Д. С. Системный анализ взаимодействия России и Европейского союза на постсоветском пространстве // Вестник международных организаций. 2014. Т. 9. № 3. С. 31–46.
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss