Hide
Раскрыть
 
INTERNATIONAL
ORGANISATIONS
RESEARCH
JOURNAL



ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081


Contacts:

Postal address:  20, Myasnitskaya str., Moscow, Russia 101000
National Research University Higher School of Economics
International Organisations Research Journal (IORJ) editors office

Actual address: office 417, bld. 17, Malaya Ordynka,  Moscow
Tel.+7 495 772-95-90 ext. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru

Indexed in 

    


   

 
 

Andrei Shelepov

The United Kingdom’s Soft Power: The Factors of Success

2014. Vol. 9. No. 2. P. 10–27 [issue contents]

The article analyses the United Kingdom’s implementation of soft power instruments in five policy areas of international cultural and humanitarian cooperation: culture and language promotion; collaboration in education; cooperation in the sphere of science, technology and innovation; strengthening business relations, public diplomacy (youth exchanges, activi­ties of non-governmental organizations [NGOs], etc.); and international development assistance.

The author examines the priorities, goals and objectives; key stakeholders; regulatory framework; system of institu­tions, mechanisms and tools; financing system and accounting mechanisms; information and communication systems; and evaluation systems.

Considering the results of the analysis, the author concludes that the combination of various aspects of international cultural and humanitarian cooperation contributes to the achievement of the main goal of the UK’s soft power policy, name­ly, ensuring the influence and successful promotion of national values abroad. The author identified key factors of the soft power policy success, including clear objectives for cooperation in each area; due consideration of national circumstances and the level of the economic development of partner countries; sustainability of activities in those countries; effective co­ordination among relevant authorities; active involvement of NGOs in collaborative processes; as well as transparency and well-developed tools for assessing the effectiveness of the soft power policy. The resource of influence in partner countries is generated primarily through activities in business relations, public diplomacy and international development assistance. However, policies in other areas also contribute to the effective implementation of the UK’s soft power strategy. 

Citation: Shelepov A. (2014) The United Kingdom’s Soft Power: The Factors of Success. International Organisations Research Journal, vol. 9, no 2, pp. 10-27 (in Russian).
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss

Скрыть
Раскрыть
 
журнал
ВЕСТНИК
МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫХ
ОРГАНИЗАЦИЙ
Образование, наука, новая экономика

SCImago Journal & Country Rank

ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081


Контакты:

Почтовый адрес: 101000, Москва, ул. Мясницкая, д. 20
Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики»
Редакция журнала "Вестник международных организаций"

Фактический адрес: Малая Ордынка, 17, каб. 417.

Тел.: +7 495 772-95-90 добав. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru

Индексирование журнала


      

     
 

Шелепов А. В.

Факторы успеха политики «мягкой силы» Великобритании

2014. Т. 9. № 2. С. 10–27 [содержание номера]

В статье представлен анализ применения Великобританией политики «мягкой силы» по пяти основным направлениям международного культурно-гуманитарного сотрудничества: культура и продвижение язы­ка; сотрудничество в области образования, научно-техническое и инновационное сотрудничество; раз­витие деловых связей; развитие общественной дипломатии (молодежные обмены, деятельность НПО); содействие международному развитию.

Автором были изучены приоритеты, цели и задачи; ключевые ведомства; нормативно-правовая база; система институтов, механизмов и инструментов; система финансирования и механизмы учета расхо­дов; система информации и коммуникаций; система оценки результатов по каждому из направлений.

На основании анализа автор приходит к выводу, что сочетание различных направлений междуна­родного культурно-гуманитарного сотрудничества способствует достижению основной цели политики «мягкой силы» Великобритании – обеспечению влияния и успешного продвижения национальных ценно­стей за рубежом. К числу выявленных основных факторов успеха политики «мягкой силы» Великобрита­нии относятся: определение четких целей сотрудничества по каждому из направлений, учет националь­ной специфики и уровня экономического развития стран-партнеров, устойчивость присутствия в этих странах, эффективная координация деятельности соответствующих ведомств, активное вовлечение НПО в процессы сотрудничества, а также прозрачность и развитые инструменты оценки эффектив­ности политики «мягкой силы». При этом ресурс влияния в странах присутствия формируется в первую очередь за счет осуществления мер по направлениям развития деловых связей, общественной дипломатии и содействия международному развитию, однако реализация политики по другим направлениям также вносит существенный вклад в реализацию Великобританией эффективной комплексной стратегии «мяг­кой силы». 

Библиографическое описание: Шелепов А. В. Факторы успеха политики «мягкой силы» Великобритании// Вестник международных организаций. 2014. Т. 9. № 2. С. 10–27.
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss