Hide
Раскрыть
 
INTERNATIONAL
ORGANISATIONS
RESEARCH
JOURNAL



ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081


Contacts:

Postal address:  20, Myasnitskaya str., Moscow, Russia 101000
National Research University Higher School of Economics
International Organisations Research Journal (IORJ) editors office

Actual address: office 417, bld. 17, Malaya Ordynka,  Moscow
Tel.+7 495 772-95-90 ext. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru

Indexed in 

    


   

 
 

Aleksei Kupriianov

Russian and Indian Cooperation in the Indo-Pacific Region in the Context of Sanctions

2019. Vol. 14. No. 3. P. 117–135 [issue contents]

During the Cold War, the Soviet Union and India, although not in a formal alliance, were strategic partners in the full sense of the word. Soviet naval forces operated in the Indian Ocean, limiting the potential of an American presence. The USSR supported India’s policy on the Middle East. Moscow, New Delhi and Baghdad created a “rouble-rupee” triangle which untied bilateral trade from the dollar and created a working mechanism for mutually beneficial trade. With the collapse of the USSR, Russia’s sphere of influence declined substantially. However, in 2000 Moscow announced its return to South Asia, and it has gradually regained its influence in the region since then. There, the new India is expanding its influence, claiming the status of a great power and the role of a regional leader.

 This article discusses the prospects for cooperation between Russia and India in the Indo-Pacific region in the context of the American imposition of sanctions against Russia. The author analyzes promising areas in which the implementation of joint Russian-Indian projects is possible and concludes that opportunities for such projects exist in virtually the entire Indo-Pacific region, including small island states, Africa and the immediate neighbourhood of India. The author divides countries into three categories: potential U.S. allies (from Washington’s point of view), adversaries of the United States and countries toward which the United States does not pursue an active policy. According to the author, Russia should build relations with all three groups of countries while maintaining contact with India. This will help consolidate anti-American forces in the region and will erode the sanctions regime. The most promising areas for trilateral projects are the traditional fields of cooperation between Russia and India, primarily military-technical cooperation and energy projects. In addition, the author proposes to turn to the Soviet experience of using “soft power” in Asia.

Citation: Kupriianov A. (2019) Russian and Indian Cooperation in the Indo-Pacific Region in the Context of Sanction. International Organisations Research Journal , vol. 14, no 3, pp. 117–135 (in English). DOI: 10.17323/1996-7845-2019-03-06.
Keywords: Russia; India; sanctions
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss

Скрыть
Раскрыть
 
журнал
ВЕСТНИК
МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫХ
ОРГАНИЗАЦИЙ
Образование, наука, новая экономика

ISSN (Print) 1996-7845

ISSN (Online) 2542-2081



Контакты:

Почтовый адрес: 101000, Москва, ул. Мясницкая, д. 20
Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики»
Редакция журнала "Вестник международных организаций"

Фактический адрес: Малая Ордынка, 17, каб. 417.

Тел.: +7 495 772-95-90 добав. 23147 

E-mail: iorj@hse.ru


 

Индексирование

Куприянов А. В.

Сотрудничество России и Индии в Индо-Тихоокеанском регионе в условиях санкций

2019. Т. 14. № 3. С. 117–135 [содержание номера]

В годы холодной войны Советский Союз и Индия, хотя и не состояли в формальном союзе, являлись в полном смысле стратегическими партнерами. Советские военно-морские силы присутствовали в Индийском океане, ограничивая потенциал американских операций, СССР поддерживал политику Индии на ближневосточном направлении. Москва и Нью-Дели создали с участием Ирака треугольник «рубль-рупия», позволявший отвязать двустороннюю торговлю от доллара и создать работающий механизм взаимовыгодной торговли. С распадом СССР сфера влияния России существенно сократилась. Однако в 2000 г. Москва заявила о возвращении в Южную Азию, и с тех пор постепенно восстанавливала свое влияние в регионе, где она имеет стратегические интересы. Там же расширяет свое влияние и новая Индия, претендующая на статус великой державы и роль регионального лидера.

 В статье рассматриваются перспективы сотрудничества России и Индии в Индийско-Тихоокеанском регионе в условиях введенных против России американских санкций. Автор анализирует перспективные зоны, в которых возможна реализация совместных российско-индийских проектов. В результате он приходит к выводу, что возможности для таких проектов существуют практически во всем Индо-Тихоокеанском регионе, включая малые островные государства, Африку и зону непосредственного соседства Индии. Автор разделяет страны на три категории: потенциальные союзники США с точки зрения Вашингтона, противники США и страны, в отношении которых США не проводят активной политики. По мнению автора, России следует выстраивать отношения со всеми тремя группами стран, поддерживая контакт с Индией. Это поможет консолидировать антиамериканские силы в регионе и будет способствовать размыванию режима санкций. Наиболее перспективными сферами для трехсторонних проектов являются традиционные поля сотрудничества России и Индии, в первую очередь ВТС и энергетика. Помимо этого, автор предлагает обратиться к советскому опыту использования «мягкой силы» в Азии как хорошо зарекомендовавшему себя в годы холодной войны.

Библиографическое описание:

Куприянов А.В. (2019) Сотрудничество России и Индии в Индо-Тихоокеанском регионе в условиях санкций. // Вестник международных организаций. Т. 14 . № 3. С. 117–135 (на русском и английском языках). DOI: 10.17323/1996-7845-2019-03-06.

Ключевые слова: Россия; Индия; санкции
BiBTeX
RIS
 
Rambler's Top100 rss